Ice Box Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We didn’t like it and found the consistency way too mushy and mealy. The longer it sat to blend the flavors, the mushier and mealier it became. It didn’t slice nicely to present to guests. Not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My family has made Ice Box Fruit Cake for years with graham crackers. The kids always enjoy crushing the gram crackers in a pillow case. People always say " I don't like fruit cake" This taste different than "Fruitcake" Everyone loves this one. I am trying it with vanilla wafers this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for a few years now. My mom would always make this cake for Christmas and everyone loved it so much. A lot of people do not like fruit cake, but this one got them hooked. It may be a regional recipe, I'm from Mississippi and friends here in Louisiana have never heard of this cake. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My mother and grandmother made during Christmas Holidays (from Louisiana). I havent met anyone until now that's even heard of it. It's delicious though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mamou, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My neighbor delivered some of this yesterday and I have to say I'm hooked. It is really good! I believe she does add coconut, but she pressed it into a cookie sheet and cut it into small squares. Significantly lowers the calories and one bite is all you need to satisfy a sweet tooth! This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Must be a regional dish as my southern grandmothers always make this for Christmas! I was so glad to find it online somewhere. Yup, you can substitute graham crackers for the vanilla wafers and you still get the same fabulous results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie du Mont
Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I'm also a North Carolina Girl presently living in South Carolina. My grandmother also made this recipe every year. I grew up eating "Ice Box Fruitcake". Utterly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My Mother used to make this. I love it and this is the first time I've seen an actual recipe - we've had to wing it. Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
i'm convinced it's a southern thing. my mom has made a rendition of this for decades. she uses cherries, rains, graham cracker crumbs, pecans, and sweetened condensed milk. she makes it in a bundt cake pan and garnishes it with cherries on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
thank you so much for this recipe i havnt had it in years and i loved it!ever since ive been married and had my son ive been dying to make it for them like my grandma used to do for me,but i could never find just the right recipe until now!thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber cudworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States