Ice Box Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My mother and grandmother made during Christmas Holidays (from Louisiana). I havent met anyone until now that's even heard of it. It's delicious though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mamou, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My neighbor delivered some of this yesterday and I have to say I'm hooked. It is really good! I believe she does add coconut, but she pressed it into a cookie sheet and cut it into small squares. Significantly lowers the calories and one bite is all you need to satisfy a sweet tooth! This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Must be a regional dish as my southern grandmothers always make this for Christmas! I was so glad to find it online somewhere. Yup, you can substitute graham crackers for the vanilla wafers and you still get the same fabulous results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie du Mont
Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I'm also a North Carolina Girl presently living in South Carolina. My grandmother also made this recipe every year. I grew up eating "Ice Box Fruitcake". Utterly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My Mother used to make this. I love it and this is the first time I've seen an actual recipe - we've had to wing it. Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
i'm convinced it's a southern thing. my mom has made a rendition of this for decades. she uses cherries, rains, graham cracker crumbs, pecans, and sweetened condensed milk. she makes it in a bundt cake pan and garnishes it with cherries on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
thank you so much for this recipe i havnt had it in years and i loved it!ever since ive been married and had my son ive been dying to make it for them like my grandma used to do for me,but i could never find just the right recipe until now!thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber cudworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I really want to like this recipe as-is for all the great ingredients & unique preparation (relative to my usual Christmas cookie baking), but it fell flat for me & my family at Christmas. Waiting all that time for the cake to "age" and unwrapping all the layers of foil & saran wrap was anticlimatic to see that beige blob in the dish. Family members had to be cajoled to give it try and the reviews were mixed from a "mmm - better than I thought it would be" to "blah." Being a sweet-tooth, I thought the cake tasted pretty good, and would describe the taste & texture as glorified cookie dough. If I were to use this recipe again, I would take it one more step by cutting the cake into bite-sized pieces and dipping them into chocolate in order to hide the beige coloring. I probably wouldn't keep the word "fruitcake" in the recipe title either... when I said the name of this recipe people wrinkled their noses before the first layer of foil was pulled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Thank you for posting the recipe. When I grew up my whole Family worked together sitting around the kitchen table to make this recipe. I tell my husband how we had fun laughing and joking. I want to do this with my Family but did not have the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I had never heard of this cake until I married my husband, this was a must for Christmas in his family. I have been making it for 34 years now. I do it a little different, I put a cup coconut , and melt mini marshmallows and add a can of evaporated milk to it. That takes the place of the condensed milk. It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States