Ice Box Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
We make this with graham crackers. We've had it on our table at Christmas for as long as I can remember. I'm from an hour north of Mobile, Ala. I wonder if the original recipe came out in some sort of Alabama Living magazine. Maybe that's why so many Alabamians are chiming in about making it. For those who haven't tried it.... Mmm! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliette Lee Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Our family's recipe calls for 1) melt 2 sticks of butter or oleo & 11lb marshmallows 2) add 1-lb crushed graham crackers, 1-lb chopped pecans or 1/2 lb each of pecans & walnuts- more won't hurt 3) add 1-lb golden raisins, 8-oz jar ?? ?? & 3-tbs of the juice 4) place in buttered ?? pan that's lined with wax paper Chill thoroughly or make several & freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Ponder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Thank u! Yes my mother made this in GA, and few people have the recipe. She put her cake in a wax paper lined vanilla wafer box with 1 of the large box sides cut out. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Yes love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have looked for this recipe for years. It was on the graham cracker box and the vanilla wafer box in the late 1960's. The company's sold and I have never been able to find recipe again. Have seen others but not this one. Is great. Thank you for posting. - Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I haven looking for this recipe for years! My mom made this every Christmas. She would pack it back in the wax bag the wafers were in and back in the box so it was easy to slice in thin slices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catvoci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I have wanted this recipe for years. A small store near home use to make it for sale. They used graham crackers crushed. And I think they added dates. Thanks for posting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Thank you for this recipe! I've been looking for it for many years. My mother made this at Christmastime and it was delicious. She pressed it into a 13x9" Pyrex dish & covered with foil. This brings back such fond memories growing up in North Alabama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I make this cake every year I grew up in South Alabama . I agree it must be a Southern recipe. My family has made it for as long as anyone can remember. There are different versions of it in the family.My Mom used candied cherries,candied pineapple ,fresh coconut,raisins, vanilla wafers,& condensed milk. Oh so very rich and tasty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I am from Georgia, and my granny used to make this and know body had the recipe. While visiting in Georgia my aunt gave me the ingredients that were wrote down many many years ago, but that's all. No directions....I am so happy to find this, it has every ingredient that's on that paper I have.....God Bless you and thank you for sharing...I love you and will fill my granny alittle bit closer now!Kay Dean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States