Ibby's Pumpkin Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This is different but wonderful! It is very sweet, almost like a dessert. Very good! Would definately make again! I served it for a fall dinner party and everyone loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
In spite of my mother's doubt when I made this for the first holiday I hosted, this is our new "tradition". It has replaced the cornbread stuffing I grew up on. I always get raised eyebrows when I tell people what I've made, but there is never any left-overs. I make it as the recipe says, but I have used dried herbs instead of fresh and just regular sliced mushrooms to save money. It is just as delicious. It is an awesome recipe and I am sure that I will make it for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora Manlove-Winchester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, Texas, USA
Living In: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I am sorry I can't give this recipe a good rating. I found the flavor of the pumpkin bread overwhelmed all the other ingredience. After I cooked it the herbs were barely noticable. I expected the traditional stuffing flavor with a pumpkin twist what I got was a pumpkin bread with a hint of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This was a big hit at Thanksgiving. I made sure to cut the sugar in the pumpkin bread and definately doubled mushrooms, celery, onions. Very rich and very flavorful. I will definately make this one as a major holiday treat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was amazing! I'm definitely not a 'stuffing' fan, but I will make this always in the future. I went to a local bakery and bought their 'pumpkin bread' (which really I think was just wheat bread with some pumpkin seeds). I also used another 1/2 cup of onions (I used sweet onions, I just like the flavour), I used 3 cups of mushrooms, and because I like my stuffing a little more moist, I used an additional 3 tbsp of chicken broth. I didn't have parsley, so didn't use any, and when I was done, I stuffed everything in the turkey "Easy Herb Roasted Turkey" from this site (also wonderful) and baked for 3 and a half hours, and served the stuffing straight from the turkey. Everything was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
First off, if you are making this recipe, please look up the Pumpkin Bread I recipe also submitted by Ibby!! Ibby is the reason I wrote into AllRecipes to ask for a search option by submitter. I made this for the first time this Thanksgiving, but I regularly make her Maple Roast Turkey recipe. I did one dish without Mushroom, and one with. The one without needed more liquid. This was very good, not too sweet, very similar to a cornbread stuffing. (also, I wouldn't worry about baking the bread for the stuffing in bread pans, I would just bake it in a 9 X 13 Dish, since you are chopping it up anyhow)Thanks Ibby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
So sorry, but yuck! I was very excited to try this recipe because it sounded so unusual and all of the ratings were wonderful. Perhaps this review isn't fair because I am more of a savory person, not sweet; and warning, this stuffing IS sweet with a taste of onions and mushrooms and herbs behind it, I made it with Libby's pumpkin cranberry bread. I will not make this again, but glad I experimented (I made a standard stuffing just in case - glad I did!). I wouldn't say it is terrible, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Too Rich of flavor. We doubled the recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I've made this stuffing for the past couple years and it's always a hit. I make the downeast maine pumpkin bread recipe from this site a few days ahead of time to give it time to dry out. This is also a great vegetarian side dish if you use veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Made this yummy stuffing for a Pumpkin Recipe Club....it accompanied Pumpkin Seed Crusted Chicken, Pumpkin Rissoto, Pumpkin Soup, Pumpkin cake and Pumpkin Cheesecake.....what a delicious fall day that was! The reviews for the stuffing were great! The only changes I made were using dried tarragon instead of fresh and green onions in place of chives (Super Wal-mart didn't have fresh tarragon or chives....go figure). I also used an entire can of Chicken Broth....it was really moist but not mushy. I cooked it in my 9x13 stoneware. Sweet and different! Won't substitue it for the standard stuffing at Thanksgiving, but it would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States