Ibby's Pumpkin Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This is different but wonderful! It is very sweet, almost like a dessert. Very good! Would definately make again! I served it for a fall dinner party and everyone loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
In spite of my mother's doubt when I made this for the first holiday I hosted, this is our new "tradition". It has replaced the cornbread stuffing I grew up on. I always get raised eyebrows when I tell people what I've made, but there is never any left-overs. I make it as the recipe says, but I have used dried herbs instead of fresh and just regular sliced mushrooms to save money. It is just as delicious. It is an awesome recipe and I am sure that I will make it for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora Manlove-Winchester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, Texas, USA
Living In: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I am sorry I can't give this recipe a good rating. I found the flavor of the pumpkin bread overwhelmed all the other ingredience. After I cooked it the herbs were barely noticable. I expected the traditional stuffing flavor with a pumpkin twist what I got was a pumpkin bread with a hint of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This was a big hit at Thanksgiving. I made sure to cut the sugar in the pumpkin bread and definately doubled mushrooms, celery, onions. Very rich and very flavorful. I will definately make this one as a major holiday treat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was amazing! I'm definitely not a 'stuffing' fan, but I will make this always in the future. I went to a local bakery and bought their 'pumpkin bread' (which really I think was just wheat bread with some pumpkin seeds). I also used another 1/2 cup of onions (I used sweet onions, I just like the flavour), I used 3 cups of mushrooms, and because I like my stuffing a little more moist, I used an additional 3 tbsp of chicken broth. I didn't have parsley, so didn't use any, and when I was done, I stuffed everything in the turkey "Easy Herb Roasted Turkey" from this site (also wonderful) and baked for 3 and a half hours, and served the stuffing straight from the turkey. Everything was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
First off, if you are making this recipe, please look up the Pumpkin Bread I recipe also submitted by Ibby!! Ibby is the reason I wrote into AllRecipes to ask for a search option by submitter. I made this for the first time this Thanksgiving, but I regularly make her Maple Roast Turkey recipe. I did one dish without Mushroom, and one with. The one without needed more liquid. This was very good, not too sweet, very similar to a cornbread stuffing. (also, I wouldn't worry about baking the bread for the stuffing in bread pans, I would just bake it in a 9 X 13 Dish, since you are chopping it up anyhow)Thanks Ibby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
So sorry, but yuck! I was very excited to try this recipe because it sounded so unusual and all of the ratings were wonderful. Perhaps this review isn't fair because I am more of a savory person, not sweet; and warning, this stuffing IS sweet with a taste of onions and mushrooms and herbs behind it, I made it with Libby's pumpkin cranberry bread. I will not make this again, but glad I experimented (I made a standard stuffing just in case - glad I did!). I wouldn't say it is terrible, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Too Rich of flavor. We doubled the recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I've made this stuffing for the past couple years and it's always a hit. I make the downeast maine pumpkin bread recipe from this site a few days ahead of time to give it time to dry out. This is also a great vegetarian side dish if you use veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Made this yummy stuffing for a Pumpkin Recipe Club....it accompanied Pumpkin Seed Crusted Chicken, Pumpkin Rissoto, Pumpkin Soup, Pumpkin cake and Pumpkin Cheesecake.....what a delicious fall day that was! The reviews for the stuffing were great! The only changes I made were using dried tarragon instead of fresh and green onions in place of chives (Super Wal-mart didn't have fresh tarragon or chives....go figure). I also used an entire can of Chicken Broth....it was really moist but not mushy. I cooked it in my 9x13 stoneware. Sweet and different! Won't substitue it for the standard stuffing at Thanksgiving, but it would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States