Ibby's Pumpkin Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
A new family favorite! I used pumpkin bread with apples and morel mushrooms although I did leave out the celery. Perfect combination of sweet and savory, creamy and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I got so many compliments when I made this for family! The recipe is amazing as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Worthington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I just made this for a pumpkin potluck party tonight. It was a smashing success! Beautiful balance of sweet, savory, and spicy. I did need to add more chicken broth than noted -- just keep adding broth until the bread will hold no more liquid. Thanks for this superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
The stuffing was great. It was flavorful and delicious. We added quite a bit more than 6 tbsp of chicken broth. More like 2 cups. I didn't measure it. My son made this for Christmas dinner and asked if I thought the recipe was a misprint. Using only 6 tbsp left the bread dry. I poured chicken broth in until I thought it looked right. Then we baked it until it was crisp on top. It was awesome. Quite different from ordinary bread stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie Henley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is a wonderful dish! My family is still talking about it! I made my own pumpkin bread, so it was a little time consuming, but the only way to do it right. My family has already requested this dish for next Thanksgiving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessieleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I HATE stuffing, but this recipe had me wanting seconds and eating all the leftovers. This was AMAZING!!! It will become a staple at our Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I was not a big fan of this one. I love pumpkin anything, so I thought for sure I would love this. However, I didn't care for the overpowering sweet taste of the pumpkin bread. I much prefer this recipe with the whole wheat/whole grain bread. It allows the mushroom onion flavor to shine through. I also thought it was a lot of work. Adding that extra step of making the pumpkin bread wasn't worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Fresh herbs are key. I also mix in dried porcini mushrooms (hydrated) for a smokey flavor. First tried this recipe 6 years ago for some non-meat eaters and it's now become a holiday staple as a second stuffing each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I was disappointed in this recipe. I was so excited to make a different kind of stuffing for Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, I didn't have fresh herbs or fresh mushrooms, so I used dry. Some of my family liked it but nobody raved over it like I had hoped. Next time I am going to do a regular stuffing with this idea of using Pumpkin Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made pumpkin bread from this site, 2 loaves. I liked it, was not a big hit tho at thanksgiving, too high brow for my meat and potatoes bunch! Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States