Ibby's Pumpkin Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I made this as a side for Thanksgiving. I loved it, and so did the family. I used Libby's Pumpkin Cranberry Bread bread recipe from this site (bread is excellent) and the cranberries in the stuffing were tasty, pretty and festive. Wonderful blend of seasonings. I took the suggestion to double the vegetables(not the butter), used regular sliced mushrooms and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
My husband was raving about this stuffing that I served at a dinner party. I had some extra pumpkin bread, so I thought I'd give it a try! Wonderful. I didn't add the mushrooms, but added chopped walnuts instead. I would definitely recommend at least doubling the veggies added and adding a bit more chicken broth (then again, I like my stuffing a bit "mushy"). I served this with Apple Rosemary Pork Tenderloin, a great pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was rated by ALL my family members as THE BEST STUFFING THEY HAD EVER HAD! We enjoyed it for Thanksgiving this year. I had made the pumpkin bread IV recipe from this site the night before (it is also awesome - I substituted unsweetened appleauce for all the oil and it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I made this for an herb competition at the 2004 Iowa State Fair - I took 1st place - it was a huge hit with the judges and other competitors!! I substituted baby portabellas for cremini mushrooms, and added a half cup of coarsely chopped and toasted pecans - YUMMY!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Yum Yum Yum....this is an awesome recipe and I'm surprised with the unanimously good reviews that more people haven't checked it out (or at least reviewed it). Do yourself a favor.....I know it sounds different (and it IS), but it comes out tasting GREAT and not the "weird" different you might think. This is an interesting and different stuffing. I encourage you to try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
This is the BEST dressing I have ever had. Using pumpkin bread was ingenious! I now want to try the same recipe using cranberry nut bread. I do suggest using a bit less allspice in the bread recipe though and I do think regular mushrooms would be just a good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I doubled the mushrooms and my pumpkin bread and walnuts in it which made it even better. My boyfriend who doesn't really like stuffing or things that are sweet ate almost half the batch by himself. I'll be making this again! Though I recommend making a more traditional stuffing for those who don't want something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
First off, if you are making this recipe, please look up the Pumpkin Bread I recipe also submitted by Ibby!! Ibby is the reason I wrote into AllRecipes to ask for a search option by submitter. I made this for the first time this Thanksgiving, but I regularly make her Maple Roast Turkey recipe. I did one dish without Mushroom, and one with. The one without needed more liquid. This was very good, not too sweet, very similar to a cornbread stuffing. (also, I wouldn't worry about baking the bread for the stuffing in bread pans, I would just bake it in a 9 X 13 Dish, since you are chopping it up anyhow)Thanks Ibby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
this was an absolutely excellent dish - everybody loved it. A highly unusual blend of sweet and smokey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
The stuffing was great. It was flavorful and delicious. We added quite a bit more than 6 tbsp of chicken broth. More like 2 cups. I didn't measure it. My son made this for Christmas dinner and asked if I thought the recipe was a misprint. Using only 6 tbsp left the bread dry. I poured chicken broth in until I thought it looked right. Then we baked it until it was crisp on top. It was awesome. Quite different from ordinary bread stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie Henley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States