Ian's Potato-Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Yéléna
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I am appositely blown away by the taste of this soup! So rich and just wonderful. I didn't find cream of celery soup so I relaxed it with cream of mushroom. I added fresh finely chopped parsley instead of dry (I like the fresh taste better). I also mashed the vegetables after they boiled (right before serving). This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
It's a good start but it lacks in the spice area. I added garlic powder, onion powder, old-bay all to taste. I all used butter to cook my onions and celery in and did not use the olive oil. The recipe was to small for 4 adults as the main dish. Had to double the recipe, plus I add one can of mushroom soup. I added the mushroom soup because I thought it tasted to like celery soup. will make it again but with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Great and made some changes - used cream of mushroom soup, used stalk from chicken bones rather than water, and as others have said used less salt as tin soup has so much already. After cooking veggies, I put them in the food processor and then reintroduced them into broth. Very creamy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is a great soup. I used more carrots and near the end of cooking , I added chopped kale. My hubby loved it. Will make it again. I did use less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
BEST SOUP EVER! It was SO easy to make and it had everything in it that I love in a soup! I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Enjoyed it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This soup was great, especially on a cold night like tonight. I did double the recipe to make sure we would have enough for leftovers for lunches this week, and I also omitted the salt. I figured between the cream of celery soup, and the beef bouillon, there was already enough salt, and it was. My oldest son doesn't usually eat potatoes (except in French fry form) ate all of his bowl, and said that the soup was really good. This was so quick and easy that it would be a great meal for a light dinner during the week. I will be making this soup often I'm sure. Thanks for the recipe, Ian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I thought this recipie was great i just did a few changes i cooked it in a slow cooker on low added crumbled bacon used cream of chicken soup and cooked the potatoes on the side added them a couple min before serving so all the stach wasnt in the broth my son and i loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This turned out amazing!!! I didn't even have some of the items like for instance the beef bouillon, and it still turned out really good. Instead of boiling the potatoes I threw them in the microwave for 4mins each then cubed them up. It saved some time but still turned out the same. I must say for such an easy recipe, this is really good. Going in my recipe book for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Easy and fast--a half hour soup that's filling, tasty and satisfying. I recommend seasoning to taste after, instead of adding the tablespoon of salt in right off the bat. My edits: I had smallish Idaho potatoes so I used 3, and then used 3 cups of water so they were covered. I also added a can of creamed corn and used cream of mushroom soup instead since the store didn't have cream of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States