Ian's Potato-Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Great soup & very easy to make! It cooks up in no time flat, so it's a lovely mid-week no-brainer. I cooked the potatoes, carrots & onions at the same time, then added the celery. I also added alittle crushed rosemary & some minced garlic. Thanks Ian for a really tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is a very simple soup that can easily please a variety of palettes. I didn't have the beef bullion so I used chicken stock instead. I also added shredded rotisserie chicken, extra veggies, dried rosemary and thyme and they complimented the soup well. Follow the recipe closely or experiment...either way it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2000
I have been searching for a good soup recipe. This is very tasty and it is easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is an excellent basic recipe that lends itself to variations. My husband's mother always told me, "I doctored it up" and with this recipe you can do just that. I added left over cooked broccoli, some parsnips and some leftover cooked cauliflower. One also could add grated cheese - American, Swiss, cheddar, parmesan - whatever one likes. This is a good way to have my husband eat the "hated" vegetables! Thanks for the recipe. Randy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Yum! This was better than I expected. I pretty much followed the recipe except I added rosemary as suggested by another reviewer. I also reduced the salt to 1 tsp. and thought it was still a bit too salty. Other than that this is going in my permanent recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
We loved this soup! I have made it a few times for my family. It's one of those recipes that you always have the ingredients in your pantry for. Very quick and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
We doubled the potatoes and used a veggie mix with red bell pepper. This is very good and healthy at the same time. Only 3 points per serving on weight watchers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firehedchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
i just made this soup today for supper and it was absolutly yummy ,this soup is a keeper!i made it exactly as recipe says.is also fast and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
A very good base recipe!! I didn't have any cream of celery soup, so I was going to make a cream soup base myself but ended up burning it. I decided just to add about 2 tbsp of cornstarch (mixed in with some water) to the soup and it came out with the consistency I love. I also added an extra potato, a few extra carrots and I skipped the frozen veggies. I also addedsome thyme and rosemary..mmmm...I'm already imagining what I'll add next! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because it is an awesome base and easy. The first time I made it I followed it perfectly to see what it came out like (I never do that). Next time I added rosemary from suggestions, no frozen veggies (no need) and also cut the soup in half but added chicken broth to compensate. It's still my fall back base and I'm pregnant and soup and I are having a love affair. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States