Ian's Potato-Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Very easy to make and yummy too! I added a can of beef broth and a bag of frozen meat tortellini. I also added Rosemary, which *really* brought out the flavor a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Yum! This was better than I expected. I pretty much followed the recipe except I added rosemary as suggested by another reviewer. I also reduced the salt to 1 tsp. and thought it was still a bit too salty. Other than that this is going in my permanent recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
It is a good & easy soup, but for those who don't like a big salty flavor, I'd cut the salt to 1 teaspoon rather than 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because it is an awesome base and easy. The first time I made it I followed it perfectly to see what it came out like (I never do that). Next time I added rosemary from suggestions, no frozen veggies (no need) and also cut the soup in half but added chicken broth to compensate. It's still my fall back base and I'm pregnant and soup and I are having a love affair. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is an excellent basic recipe that lends itself to variations. My husband's mother always told me, "I doctored it up" and with this recipe you can do just that. I added left over cooked broccoli, some parsnips and some leftover cooked cauliflower. One also could add grated cheese - American, Swiss, cheddar, parmesan - whatever one likes. This is a good way to have my husband eat the "hated" vegetables! Thanks for the recipe. Randy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2000
I have been searching for a good soup recipe. This is very tasty and it is easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This is a good hearty soup but the salt content is WAY over the top to be healthy. 2059 mg is more than a day's supply. Use low sodium broth, low sodium ream of mushroom soup and cut out the TBS of added salt and you've got a soup that's tasty and good for you. You can always add a few shakes of salt to your bowl if you need it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
A very good base recipe!! I didn't have any cream of celery soup, so I was going to make a cream soup base myself but ended up burning it. I decided just to add about 2 tbsp of cornstarch (mixed in with some water) to the soup and it came out with the consistency I love. I also added an extra potato, a few extra carrots and I skipped the frozen veggies. I also addedsome thyme and rosemary..mmmm...I'm already imagining what I'll add next! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
We doubled the potatoes and used a veggie mix with red bell pepper. This is very good and healthy at the same time. Only 3 points per serving on weight watchers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firehedchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I thought this recipe was awesome. It turned out great following the directions as written. I made it for dinner for my newly vegetarian husband. He thought it was just okay, but the rest of the family loved it! The only thing that might have made it even better would be to use all fresh instead of frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States