Ian's Potato-Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Good soup, but for those who are health conscious, watch out - one serving of this has more than your daily limit of sodium!! At the very least, replace the tinned soup with the low sodium version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My Mom(who is Pennslyvania Dutch) made a soup similar to this and everyone still asks me to make it. All she did was put potatoes on the bottom of large pot add celery, carrots, and onion, use about half potatoes other half vegtables. Add enough water to just cover the potatos.Fry bacon and put on top. Steam it all till vegtables are soft. Then she put it in the blender with milk till all of it was blended and creamy. Add salt and pepper. We ate it with homemade bread and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winburne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This is a good hearty soup but the salt content is WAY over the top to be healthy. 2059 mg is more than a day's supply. Use low sodium broth, low sodium ream of mushroom soup and cut out the TBS of added salt and you've got a soup that's tasty and good for you. You can always add a few shakes of salt to your bowl if you need it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was delicious. I added 1/4 cup of velveeta and 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I thought this recipe was awesome. It turned out great following the directions as written. I made it for dinner for my newly vegetarian husband. He thought it was just okay, but the rest of the family loved it! The only thing that might have made it even better would be to use all fresh instead of frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
We loved this soup! I have made it a few times for my family. It's one of those recipes that you always have the ingredients in your pantry for. Very quick and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly except didn't have the celery stalk. Sorry, wasn't as good as I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
A very good base recipe!! I didn't have any cream of celery soup, so I was going to make a cream soup base myself but ended up burning it. I decided just to add about 2 tbsp of cornstarch (mixed in with some water) to the soup and it came out with the consistency I love. I also added an extra potato, a few extra carrots and I skipped the frozen veggies. I also addedsome thyme and rosemary..mmmm...I'm already imagining what I'll add next! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is a very simple soup that can easily please a variety of palettes. I didn't have the beef bullion so I used chicken stock instead. I also added shredded rotisserie chicken, extra veggies, dried rosemary and thyme and they complimented the soup well. Follow the recipe closely or experiment...either way it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is an excellent basic recipe that lends itself to variations. My husband's mother always told me, "I doctored it up" and with this recipe you can do just that. I added left over cooked broccoli, some parsnips and some leftover cooked cauliflower. One also could add grated cheese - American, Swiss, cheddar, parmesan - whatever one likes. This is a good way to have my husband eat the "hated" vegetables! Thanks for the recipe. Randy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States