Ian's Potato-Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Surprisingly good! I pretty well followed the recipe as written although I did add some Italian seasoning and a chopped garlic clove after reading the other reviews. My husband said he thought he was eating lunch at the upscale tearoom in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Added a few slices of bacon and used Cream of Chicken because I couldn't find Cream of Celery, threw in red pepper, frozen broccoli and green beans, and fresh kale. It was sooo good and it gets even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
the cream of celery soup made it taste too processed for me. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andrews, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Great soup! I cut waaaay back on the salt though; the boullion already had enough for me. Other than that, it's a great base to add almost anything to, and one that I will most definitely use again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This is a great soup. I added a couple cloves of garlic and used fresh veggies (onion, celery, mushrooms and grated carrots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was so good. I didn't use any canned soup, I just added 2% milk and then thickened the soup. I put the veggies in the chopper and then dumped them in the pot with the potatoes and all the ingredients. This is a very versatile soup. Next time I will make more and put it in the crockpot for the day. And freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I just made this soup. Excellent flavour. I only used frozen mixed veggies, 2 cups, added 2 tins of beef broth, no boullion, a cup of kernal corn, and also a 2/3 cup tiny shells. It is delicious, there are so many variations for it. You could add beans of any sort or a protein kick as well. Definitely make this one again. Feel free to add a bit more water if it gets too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
The only change I made was to saute the onions, celery and carrots first in the olive oil, then add everything else once they are soft. Oh, and I also didn't use the salt, I just salted to taste, 1 tablespoon seemed like an awful lot. I think next time I will try frying up some bacon, then saute the veggies in the bacon drippings, kind of like a "Baked Potato" soup with all the fixings! Overall a very good, simple, quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I try never to use canned soups or bullion to my soup base because of the preservatives, msg and sodium. Instead use unbleached flour while sauteeing onions and celery. Use liquid beef stock and white or red potatoes have better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
The only reason this isn't getting five stars from me is because of the salt content. Reduce the salt, use a salt free bouillon or broth and a salt free soup or make your own cream base (easy enough to do) and this recipe becomes five stars. I like that it has no garlic in it. Garlic is in everything these days and because of an allergy, I always have to substitute or leave it. Nice to have a recipe I can just make without having to decide how much the flavor will be altered without the garlic. Use fresh veggies instead of frozen if possible, but in a pinch the frozen will work well. I like to at least partially puree this. Sometimes I puree the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States