Ian's Potato-Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
An unexpected surprise! We both are convalescing and needed a rich, healthy soup easy to eat. We omitted the onion, cream soup and seasonings with the exception of a little pepper at the end. We added 1 extra potato, MUCH more water (probably close to 6 cups as we used a lot of veggies, including spinach!) and used 2 chicken bouillon cubes. Very, very good - flavorful, hearty and warming. Thanks Ian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
The only thing I did differently is I omitted the celery and for the water, I used half water, half skim milk. It was easy to make, somewhat healthy, and my 8-year-old gobbled it up. I thought it was okay, but I'm not really fond of celery, so the cream of celery soup wasn't a good choice for me. I think next time I will try maybe cream of chicken or something and it will probably be great. For someone that likes celery, this would be awesome as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Great base recipe, can have a lot of fun with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aryana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My Three Sons
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This took a novice (me) 60 minutes from the time I started until the table was ready. I added a little more salt, boulon, and veggies - this recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Three Sons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was quite tasty! I added an extra can of cream of mushroom soup and 2 cups of heavy cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made this today. It turned out just like the picture. It didnt make too much, which I liked. Sometimes when you make soup, you get tired of it way before its all gone. We had it for lunch, and the rest will be gone tomorrow. I didnt add all that salt, only used 1/4 t. and I used vegan chick seasoning, and used no oil. This might be good with other creamed soups too. Perhaps cream of mushroom, or aspargus. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Yes, it really is THAT good and easy! I boiled the potatoes and while they were going I chopped up celery and carrots (more than it called for and it was worth it!), and then added the rest of the ingredients as directed. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
What great comfort food. I used 4 small potatoes and took others' advice and added the rosemary as well as a little garlic powder but kept the rest the same. I used fat free cream of celery with great results. Great for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Reduced the salt to one TEAspoon and the soup was GREAT! Very rich and creamy and full of flavor. Tasted a little like chicken pot pie, only better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We added some ground beef to the recipe and made our own cream of celery soup as we didn't have any on hand in which I put the beef bouillon cubes in instead of the soup it self. I also added fresh crushed garlic and a whole onion when I browned the ground beef and skipped the onion powder and the celery. Everyone liked it and wanted seconds! It reminded me of hamburg gravy only in a soup form with veggies in it! We also cut back on the salt! With the changes I made it would be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States