'I Hate Cucumbers!' Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This salad was very refreshing. I made a few changes though. I increased the sugar from 2 tsp to 3 Tbs. because it was very sour. I also substituted 6 oz. plain yogurt for the mayo, and I used about 2 Tbs of dill from a tube made by Gourmet Gardens (it has a much fresher taste than dried dill, but not as strong, so more is needed). I sliced the cucumbers using the side of my cheese grater and quickly sliced the cucumbers and onion very thinly. I omitted the celery. I'd definitely make this again, especially for a summer bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLR71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This recipe is similar to something we used to make at my uncle's deli, with the addition of sliced fresh tomatoes. When I attempted to make the dressing for this salad, the proportions didn't work to my liking, so I ended up discarding half the dressing and adding more mayonnaise to cut the strong vinegar taste and reduce the soupy consistency (and a tad more sugar!)... If you prefer the original proportions, I might also recommend trying a slightly more mild rice wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I ended up halving the vinegar (because I didn't have enough) and pretty much doubling the mayo (to make it creamier)and used celery seed instead of celery. Came out really good! Never would have thougt that one up on my own. Even my picky husband liked it. Put it right into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was a very briny salad, almost like eating pickle juice. The second time I made it, I decreased the vinegar substantially and increased the sugar and mayo -- much better. We deleted the celery. This is similar to my grandmother's old German recipe, and is also good with sliced fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
As the other reviewer stated, my mom also makes this with sour cream and sugar to taste. (I like it sweet). It is really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I'm not crazy about cucumbers either, but I did like this. In order to get the mayonnaise thoroughly mixed, I will use a blender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I omitted the celery, and only used three cucumbers. I took it to a SBDiet cookout and it was a HIT. It's good the second day, but the cucumbers begin to wilt. Will definitely serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrophyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I'll admit, I hate cucumber salad. I made this for a company picnic and followed some suggestions and used 3 tbs of sugar and 1/3 cup mayo. Let it sit in a fridge for a few hours before our picnic and was worried when I saw how much liquid had formed. The salad was a hit among all who tried it and I even liked it. I'm a convert. Looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
The red wine vinegar seemed over powering....and my husband still hates cucumbers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is very good. My Mom used sour cream and onion,salt and pepper, we grew really liking cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States