'I Hate Cucumbers!' Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Delicious. I served this with a very spicy pork dish, so it was a refreshing counterpoint. I sliced the cukes and red onion very thinly with a mandolin. Yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
The salad was all-right although could have been a bit sweeter imo. My other complaint is that after mixing my vinegar and and mayo the dressing turned an ugly color and it started creeping into my cucumbers turning them brownish. After marinading a bit they didn't look very apetizing so I didn't bother bringing them to my Moms. I may try useing a clear vinegar if I make it again; imo thicker slices would hold up better since the thin ones got pretty limp!.. The picture shows right after I made it and before it sat in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Sharp taste with the vinegar and dill and also very sweet because of the sugar. It was an ok recipe, but not one I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was....well....weird. Some liked it, some didn't. I don't know if it was the mayo or the sugar that turned me off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
GREAT recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
As the other reviewer stated, my mom also makes this with sour cream and sugar to taste. (I like it sweet). It is really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was a very briny salad, almost like eating pickle juice. The second time I made it, I decreased the vinegar substantially and increased the sugar and mayo -- much better. We deleted the celery. This is similar to my grandmother's old German recipe, and is also good with sliced fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I omitted the celery, and only used three cucumbers. I took it to a SBDiet cookout and it was a HIT. It's good the second day, but the cucumbers begin to wilt. Will definitely serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrophyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I'm not crazy about cucumbers either, but I did like this. In order to get the mayonnaise thoroughly mixed, I will use a blender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I ended up halving the vinegar (because I didn't have enough) and pretty much doubling the mayo (to make it creamier)and used celery seed instead of celery. Came out really good! Never would have thougt that one up on my own. Even my picky husband liked it. Put it right into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States