'I Hate Cucumbers!' Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
What a fabulous taste! Split the vineager with Apple Cider vineager and put in a little less, added a little extra mayo and sugar and extra fresh dill. I definitely like it with celery- gives it that extra crunchiness and flavor. This one is going in my 'favs'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very tastey! I halved the R.W. Vinegar amount, did 2 TBS sugar, doubled the mayo (made it much creamier!), and omitted the celery. It really depends on if you prefer a more vinegar taste or sweeter taste as the how much/little of the sugar and vinegar to add. I prefer sweeter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I'll admit, I hate cucumber salad. I made this for a company picnic and followed some suggestions and used 3 tbs of sugar and 1/3 cup mayo. Let it sit in a fridge for a few hours before our picnic and was worried when I saw how much liquid had formed. The salad was a hit among all who tried it and I even liked it. I'm a convert. Looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Prepared without the celery, and liked the flavors of this cucumber salad. I do prefer my Mom's recipe using half and half cream with cider vinegar, but this recipe is definitely a close second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was a good way to use up the extra cucumbers in my garden and I liked the fresh taste of the cukes with the dill. I did decrease the vinegar to about 1/4 cup but that's because I prefer a little creamier and less tart version. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is very good. My Mom used sour cream and onion,salt and pepper, we grew really liking cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Really tasty...a nice improvement over vinegar/salt/sugar recipe. I can use up alot more cukes because I can eat this recipe's product by the bowlful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is fantastic! I served it with salmon and rice. I will be making this many times this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is delicious! Everyone loved it and I especially loved that it was not as sweet as the usual cucumber salad. Fabulous. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. Wanted to make a cucumber salad for a while. I love acidity and cucumbers.. I like to eat them with vinegar and salt by themselves, so needless to say this recipe was for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States