Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jonagold
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
A little extra cajun seasoning and these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very good recipe, turned out great. I like sweet hush puppies so I added a little sugar. To the reviewer that thought the batter was too runny, add small equal parts of flour and corn meal until you get the right thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Quick and easy. 5+ stars in my kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Very good recipe. I added a little Tony Cacheres seasoning to the mix to give them some spice and they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
These were so good! Added jalapenos and old bay and more Cajun seasoning. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly - turned out fine, but tasted like fried stuffing. Not quite what I was looking for - plan to try a different recipe again. Was quick, though, just like I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
very bland.. you def should add some seasoning, I added seasoning salt, garlic powder, and black and red pepper to my second batch, as well as parsley for color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
The batter was quite gooey, which meant that the hush puppies came out in some fanciful, Dr. Seuss-like shapes. That said, they tasted GREAT! Next time I'll add a little bit of flour to stiffen up the dough, make it easier to mold into balls, and hopefully make them more uniform in shape. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I read several of the reviews where they said they were runny, or too wet. So were mine. I couldn't get them to clump up in balls. That's not to say these weren't bad. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a little sugar. Very good. I will also try these again to see if I can master the batter by getting them to clump up better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenzel Soliday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
love this recipe. Be sure to add more flour than corn meal, also a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Deep-Fried Stuffing

Here's a quick and easy way to use up leftover stuffing.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States