Hush Puppies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These are easy to make and have a great texture but I would like more corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Just like my mom use to make. I love ever one. This is such a comfort food I will definately make once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Very good. I did 1.5 c flour, .5 c cornmeal, 2 t baking powder for dry ingredients. I had to be careful to make them small (no bigger than a golfball) or they would be runny inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I used the advice of using 1 cup flour and 1 cup cornmeal. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Yummy! My family loves them. Here's what I did differently, though :D I used 1 cup of cornmeal, 1 cup of regular flour & a tablespoon of baking soda (in place of the 2 cups self-rising flour). I also added a little pepper and two tablespoons of white sugar (I think I'll try brown sugar next time). I fried them in a frying pan, in about 1 1/2 inches of oil, so had to flip them over once they got brown on one side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
The recipe is okay as is, but I think there needs to be some changes before I'd call it a four or five star recipe. I'd do at least half cornmeal and half flour, add more onion, maybe a little chopped bell pepper, and perhaps some other seasonings, including extra salt. It's a good base recipe though. Thanks for sharing. I think with some work, it will be a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I wasn't that crazy about this one. I thought they were a little bland. I chopped up an onion in lieu of the minced onion and I still thought they came up a little short on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These are awesome, even reheated in the microwave for a couple of seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was very good, even my children LOVED them. I did not have "self rising" anything so I used 1c flour 1 c cornmeal + 2 t. baking powder to cover that. Now that I think about it I could have used something like Krusteaz or Bisquick, but I really enjoyed the cornbreadish taste/feel so I would still use the cornmeal. I also added a little bit of Turbinado (natural grain)sugar, maybe a T. I've never fried before, this was my first go and it was GREAT! I'd say the secret is to actually wait the 10 minutes they suggest, before that it was way too runny. It thickened up perfect though. This recipe made 29 "pups". (Boy they went fast!) GOOD LUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Excellent! I followed advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 c of corn meal in place of 1/2c of the flour. I added about 2t of baking powder and more salt. The result is a light texture, not greasy and great corn taste. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States