Hush Puppies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was very good, even my children LOVED them. I did not have "self rising" anything so I used 1c flour 1 c cornmeal + 2 t. baking powder to cover that. Now that I think about it I could have used something like Krusteaz or Bisquick, but I really enjoyed the cornbreadish taste/feel so I would still use the cornmeal. I also added a little bit of Turbinado (natural grain)sugar, maybe a T. I've never fried before, this was my first go and it was GREAT! I'd say the secret is to actually wait the 10 minutes they suggest, before that it was way too runny. It thickened up perfect though. This recipe made 29 "pups". (Boy they went fast!) GOOD LUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Excellent! I followed advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 c of corn meal in place of 1/2c of the flour. I added about 2t of baking powder and more salt. The result is a light texture, not greasy and great corn taste. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Was great! Instead of two cups of flour did 1 1/2 cups of flour and 1/2 cup of cornmeal was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Out of this world! I have never made hushpuppies before, and my husband has only made them from a box! They were soooo moist and to think you add creamed corn. The next weekend following, I made them again for my in-laws! They loved them just the same! We use a sweet onion, and add more than requested (to our taste). Thank you so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This recipe is great if made right! If you don't know what you're doing though it can come out doughy and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
The absolute best hushpuppies I have ever had and everyone that ate them with me said they are awesome. They are like beignet hushpuppies (new orleans).....so good and easy too believe it or not. I added a little bit of sugar....HOOTNANNY YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Delicious. Serve with lots of tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
These were wonderful. I did use self rising cornmeal mix instead of the flour because that was what I had and it worked great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
These are awesome! I just added 3 tsp of sugar to the dough. Very easy and sooooo yummy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These are awesome, even reheated in the microwave for a couple of seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States