Hush Puppies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Yummy! My family loves them. Here's what I did differently, though :D I used 1 cup of cornmeal, 1 cup of regular flour & a tablespoon of baking soda (in place of the 2 cups self-rising flour). I also added a little pepper and two tablespoons of white sugar (I think I'll try brown sugar next time). I fried them in a frying pan, in about 1 1/2 inches of oil, so had to flip them over once they got brown on one side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Was great! Instead of two cups of flour did 1 1/2 cups of flour and 1/2 cup of cornmeal was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
The hushpuppies came out more like a doughnut - very doughy in the middle - and greasy. Definately not the traditional cornmeal hushpuppies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was very good, even my children LOVED them. I did not have "self rising" anything so I used 1c flour 1 c cornmeal + 2 t. baking powder to cover that. Now that I think about it I could have used something like Krusteaz or Bisquick, but I really enjoyed the cornbreadish taste/feel so I would still use the cornmeal. I also added a little bit of Turbinado (natural grain)sugar, maybe a T. I've never fried before, this was my first go and it was GREAT! I'd say the secret is to actually wait the 10 minutes they suggest, before that it was way too runny. It thickened up perfect though. This recipe made 29 "pups". (Boy they went fast!) GOOD LUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
You are right! The corn really does it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAJIX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I used the advice of using 1 cup flour and 1 cup cornmeal. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These Hush Puppies or another referred to them as corn fritters are terrific. I altered the recipe as suggested by another reviewer(s) using 1 c. cornmeal, 1 c. self-rising flour, 2 tsp. baking powder and chopped pickled jalapeno. My husband and I are not typically into preparing deep-fried foods, but these Hush Puppies/Fritters were light, airy and quite delicious. Thanks to the original recipe submitter and to those that "tweaked" this creation. These were a very nice addition to our battered and deep-fried Cod. Sat. night dinner was dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Excellent! I followed advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 c of corn meal in place of 1/2c of the flour. I added about 2t of baking powder and more salt. The result is a light texture, not greasy and great corn taste. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made several modifications to this recipe. First I used a 6oz pack of cornbread mix and added enough self-rising flour to equal 2 cups total. I added 1/4 cup onions and 1 jalepeno to the mix. I then added some garlic powder, cumin and chili powder and then followed the recipe the rest of the way. It is very important to let this sit for at least the 10 minutes before cooking. The hushpuppies came out light and fluffy..YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States