Hush Puppies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
The flavor was great. I made these for a fish fry and everyone loved them! I did add some sugar as desired for flavor and used one small chopped onion instead of minced onion. I also used a small metal soup ladle to slowly dip them into the hot oil because the mixture is creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This recipe is incredible as Tod Mun, a Thai corn fritter. This tastes EXACTLY like the Tod Mun at the best Thai restaurant I have ever eaten (in Davis, California). Serve with any sweet and spicy (not sour - spicy) sauce in the Asian section of your supermarket. FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keflavik, Suðurland, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I will not try this recipe again. I followed the recipe to a T. When it came to deep frying them you pretty much had to just pour the batter in. It didn't form at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I made this recipe exactly and it didn't turn out well. I was skeptical with not using corn meal and I was right. Hush puppies in my opinion, require cornmeal. These were very dense and tasteless. If you choose to make this recipe at least do 1/2 flour, 1/2 cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I'll make these again. I've been looking for a good HP recipe. In the South here everyone makes their own and (Northerner me) I always made the mixes. They are OK but seems like it couldn't be hard to make them from scratch either. Most have too much cornmeal for me to love them the way everyone says they do. I love this softer, moister recipe. I did use a little cornmeal in place of 1/2 cup of the flour and I did use reg. flour and 2 tsp. baking powder. baking powder. My main gripe is that recipes using canned goods can't be scaled easily. Cut the recipe in half and use 1/2 a can of corn, you usually end up wasting the other half of the can anyway. Don't scale it and it makes a huge batch that you throw out most of anyway. I may try frying the leftover batter and freezing them. Maybe that's the secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
no flavor at all...I even used extra onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
GOOD. TASTED LIKE CORN GRITS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris1971
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I made a this recipe earlier in the summer and made a couple of modifications. I used a 50/50 mix of regular cornmeal and flour, 2 tsp of baking powder and used onion powder instead of minced onion. I followed the instructions as written and they turned out well. My girlfriend liked them more than me however. I thought they tasted fine but couldn't get over the corn bits from the creamed corn. I'll try to find a recipe that omits the creamed corn. I liked that they were a little on the sweet side as this is my preference. They also reheated well in a 350°F oven the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Yum! Per other reviews I did sub half the flour w/ cornmeal. I also baked them instead of fried and they turned out just dandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was my 1st time cooking hush puppies ever and they were DELICIOUS! They were moist and I will be cooking them again. I did use 1 c self rising flour and 1 c meal. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States