Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
As one reviewr did, I tried this without reading the reviews. Bad mistake. After adding more cornmeal and some obviously omitted flour to get a decent consistency they were still one of the blandest tasting things I've tried. I tried to doctor it up some by adding whole kernel corn and chives. It helped a bit but with so much cornmeal in it they still turned out very grainy. My suggestion if anybody wants to risk this recipe again is to half the cornmeal and replace it with flour and also half the liquid. A little seasoning of choice wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This was the most awful hushpuppy recipe I ever tried. It was a runny mess. Shape into small ball??? I don't think so. Something, (like flour) had to have been left out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Good recipe if tweaked a little. I cut back the milk to 3/4 c., 1/4 c. water, added 1/4 c. sugar, 2 tsp. salt, and added some chopped up jalepeno pepper. It gave it the little kick it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Lang Turnage-Mortgage O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
i followed the suggestions for increasing the viscosity of the batter. i ended up not adding any water and adding about 3 cups of flour. this resulted in the promised tasty morsels. it also resulted in about five billion servings. as yummy as these things are... that's a lot of hush puppies. i'm refrigerating the rest of the batter for later use. whew. next time i'll probably use less cornmeal and less milk, and no water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I spent a lot of time down south and these were awful. We tried it twice because we thought we made a mistake. They were soupy and tasteless. Missing flour and sugar would be my guess. Somebody forgot something. Stay clear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
horrible, i tried it twice thinking i might have screwed it up, it made a cornmeal soup, measurements must be off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
After reading the reviews, I used 1 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of water and it turned out fine. Next time I will add more seasonings but this is a good start as a basic hush puppy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Why does this have so many stars? I made the mistake of making up the recipe without reading the reviews first. It was absolutely gloppy. Will not make this recipe again. about 1 cup of flour later an additional cup of corn flour and a 1/2 a cup of suger i was close to good to go. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA97303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This recipe is not good, the batter was way to goopy, I had to add flour and more cornmeal to it. This is not a traditional southern Hush Puppy recipe, I would never use it again. I am shocked that it received 4 stars. I thought the receipe had too many wet ingredients, I should have trusted my first instinct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I followed the recipe to a tee and it was still to goopy so I added the following: 3/4 C flour, 1/2 tsp. more salt, 1/2 C. sugar and they turned out Perfect!!! Everybody loved them! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States