Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
salty cornbread. I didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
These are yummy!! They were definately a runny mess. I added extra flour, but I left them really sticky and dropped them into the oil. I also added a bit of sugar more salt and some garlic and onion salt. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
These did not turn out well for me. They were hard, and didn't have a good flavor. It could have been something I did though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
A good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
These were so nasty! Very little flavor if any at all. It was very runny and didn't form into a ball. There is deffinately some flour missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This wasn't very good. We had to add more corn meal to make if be able to form a ball, we added about 1 more cup. It would have been pancakes had we tried to fry the original recipe. Sorry. The taste was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
i found this recipe to be none helpful. it was to runny and it did not stick. i tryed to add about 3 or more cups flower, about 2 cups sugar, and 2 tbs of cornstarch and it was still bland and not sticky enough. please check and see if you made a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Well this was my first attempt at making hushpuppies. Normally I buy the mix in the store and do it the easy way, but we were having fish at the last minute and I didn't feel like going to the store just for hush puppy mix. I had all of the ingredients for this recipe in the house and figured I would give it a try. I have to say, that after making some "adjustments" they were the best hush puppies I have ever had. I won't be buying the mix and taking the easy way out anymore (smile). I did add milk as others suggested in previous reviews. I wound up adding just a little more than 1/4 cup though. Also since I was making fish, I decided to add some old bay seasoning into the hush puppy mix and man that really made a difference. I think next time I am going to try adding some green pepper into the mix as well. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
We really like these. It makes a TON of hush puppies, so half the recipe if you aren't feeding a lot of people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
As one reviewr did, I tried this without reading the reviews. Bad mistake. After adding more cornmeal and some obviously omitted flour to get a decent consistency they were still one of the blandest tasting things I've tried. I tried to doctor it up some by adding whole kernel corn and chives. It helped a bit but with so much cornmeal in it they still turned out very grainy. My suggestion if anybody wants to risk this recipe again is to half the cornmeal and replace it with flour and also half the liquid. A little seasoning of choice wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States