Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I checked this recipe with my old betty crooker picture cookbook. This is the exact same recipe. The only difference is the frying temp. The cookbook says to fry at 375. Which is what I did. They turned out just as I had remembered as a teenager making them for the first time 30 years ago. There is one thing I did do and that was add 1/4 cup of maza flour to thicken it up a little. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
edible... but not delicious. it was corn meal overload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by na0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
These remind me of my mom's hush puppies, I never got her recipe, cause she never had one. she just knew what to do. I had to vary the cornmeal to obtain the right consitency. But that isn't hard to do. Peggy/ Panama City, FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Too much cornemeal. Not very tasty. Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I luv this recipe. I have made it at least a dozen times. I drain my mexican corn and mix everything dry. That way it's not too watery. Also ,I added buttermilk instead of milk. I add plenty of diced onion and peppers. The eggs make this recipe flufffy, not hard. Thank you so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This tasted very grainy and bland . After the first couple , I added a few tablespoons of sugar and a cup and a half of flour . It helped some but i didnt have time to really work out all the kinks . I think I will just search for a better recipe to use next time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marseilles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Came out too hard...I may have done something wrong but mine looked like the picture....I'm new to cooking but maybe my taste run toward a flour/corn meal combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I tried this recipe and left out the water because before it was time to add the water, it was already too mushy and wet. I added some seasonings of my own and it still turned out with no flavor. They looked like hush puppies on the outside, but on the inside they were just yellow. That is not how the hush puppies I have eaten in the past have looked. They need more flour than anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Quite good. Fantastic taste. Much better than I've had in quite some time. The only thing I needed to do was add a bit more corn meal to stiffen up the mixture. Apart from that, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I tried making this recipes using adjustments from those who commented, but it took a great deal more flour, sugar, and milk to make them edible, and they're still quite grainy. I think the right butter spread can help though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States