Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I would recommend using self-rising cornmeal for one thing and use only half the amount and for the other half panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryebomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Great tasting! I reduced the water to less than 1/4 cup, based on other reviews. Instead of minced onion, I used powdered onion (about 1/8 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These turned out really well. Kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
too grainy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Excellent! I added a bit of onion powder & garlic powder to these (my preferance) Also had to add 1/2 cup more cornmeal to the batter for the consistancy to be correct. All and all these were Excellent! Great Basic recipe !! They are up there with Restaurant quality! My family Loved them!! I will use this recipe again and again! (maybe with some gr pepper or jalapeno!) GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very good for my first attempt. Added an extra egg cause it seemed too watery and they came out great. Next time I will use buttermilk and more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
They were hard as a rock on the outside. I kept adding flour, but ended up dumping the whole thing. There has to be a better reciepe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These were awesome! I added 2 tablespoons of sugar, two tablespoons of pureed vidalia onion and cut 1/4 cup of the milk. The bonus is they are terrifically easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
TIPS: Add about a tablespoon of sugar and a dash of cayenne pepper for flavor, otherwise they are sorta bland. Also, I added diced bell pepper. They were delish!!! You can form them as they cook, but they'll be big, light and crispy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These were great!! My husband ate them up fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States