Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Not as flavorful as the ones I've had down south. Still searching for that elusive "something" that will make these puppies "pop"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Made these once for a fish fry at my Lodge and am now in charge of hush puppies for all times. Very simple recipe and perfect old-fashioned taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Unmitigated disaster of a recipe. The batter was waaaaay to wet. Efforts at firming it up required a substantial amount of flour & cornmeal. The result was a flavor not worth eating. Find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I did not care for these much, there just wasn't much flavor to them. I even added more onion and garlic powder. They were also very dry. We were really disappointed =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
These hush puppies are great! The batter does seem a bit loose and we were afraid of using it, but they turned out great! We eventually added a bit more flour and corn meal towards the end - just to see what happened and they weren't nearly as good. Mix as directed. Cook as directed - they are perfect...and taste amazing with the Tartar Sauce I recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
The ingredients are simple and they are easy to make but the flavor is bland and they did not keep well over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhilipD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was the best but I added corn and a cup of flour. and will for sure will make again .. the recipe makes to much for us so I made half the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Carner Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kake, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
It's tough to find good hush puppies in the northwest, so I had to make my own... this recipe is awesome! Exactly what I had been craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Didnt turn out at all. Batter was VERY runny. Probably wont try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good flavor but way too watery - added more cornmeal and some corn starch to thicken. Formed the balls and were way too hard on the outside after being fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States