Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I made these for American Night here at my German university and they were a hit. We had some trouble thickening the batter, but other than that they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
As a previous review suggested, I used beer instead of the milk. I also added cajun seasoning, black pepper, and sugar. Really easy and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roadkill Cook
Home Town: Bonifay, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe awesome! As soon as they came out of the oil, they were gone. I usually just use onion powder, but this time I used fresh minced onion. What a difference. Also, I added dried parsley but strictly for presentation purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I prepared the recipe as written and was very disappointed. The hush puppies turned out rubbery and har
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This is a great recipe. I have used a very similar recipe for years. It used baking soda as opposed to the baking powder, but the same otherwise. I like to add some cayenne pepper or chopped jalapenos to step up the flavor, since my family like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contented Home-maker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Heltonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
followed the recipe exactly and they were WAAAY TO WATERY.I wish I would have read the reviews. They fell apart in the oil and were dry as a bone...I don't understand how the reviews can be so mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Lise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
i used flour instead of cornmeal and cut out on the water.. and used about 5 or 6 onions.. TURNED OUT AMAZING!!!!!! So oniony.. loved it. will make again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Followed the recipe to a T. The flavor was bland to us. I would up the seasoning if I made again, but I don't think we will be cooking these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is what I remember from childhood. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I only rated a 4 because the recipe gives a good BASE to start hush puppies. Add one or more of these: garlic salt, a splash of hot sauce, chili powder, creamed corn, diced jalapenos or bell pepper. Also, use flour to thicken...not more corn meal, try using a cheese grater on the onion instead of dicing it and use BEER instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States