Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I luv this recipe. I have made it at least a dozen times. I drain my mexican corn and mix everything dry. That way it's not too watery. Also ,I added buttermilk instead of milk. I add plenty of diced onion and peppers. The eggs make this recipe flufffy, not hard. Thank you so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
These are yummy!! They were definately a runny mess. I added extra flour, but I left them really sticky and dropped them into the oil. I also added a bit of sugar more salt and some garlic and onion salt. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
These remind me of my mom's hush puppies, I never got her recipe, cause she never had one. she just knew what to do. I had to vary the cornmeal to obtain the right consitency. But that isn't hard to do. Peggy/ Panama City, FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These were awesome! I added 2 tablespoons of sugar, two tablespoons of pureed vidalia onion and cut 1/4 cup of the milk. The bonus is they are terrifically easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These were great!! My husband ate them up fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
better then any in a restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
As a child I hated hushpuppies. But I saw a recipe that made me want to try it again. I checked here for a quicker one an....WOW, this was the best thing I had ever tasted. It was fast, easy, little clean up and I was able to do it while chatting on line. Now that is what I call a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Not the prettiest hush puppies I ever had (mine stuck a bit) but definitely the tastiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
We really like these. It makes a TON of hush puppies, so half the recipe if you aren't feeding a lot of people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This was the most awful hushpuppy recipe I ever tried. It was a runny mess. Shape into small ball??? I don't think so. Something, (like flour) had to have been left out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States