Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This was the most awful hushpuppy recipe I ever tried. It was a runny mess. Shape into small ball??? I don't think so. Something, (like flour) had to have been left out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Good recipe if tweaked a little. I cut back the milk to 3/4 c., 1/4 c. water, added 1/4 c. sugar, 2 tsp. salt, and added some chopped up jalepeno pepper. It gave it the little kick it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIET310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
i followed the suggestions for increasing the viscosity of the batter. i ended up not adding any water and adding about 3 cups of flour. this resulted in the promised tasty morsels. it also resulted in about five billion servings. as yummy as these things are... that's a lot of hush puppies. i'm refrigerating the rest of the batter for later use. whew. next time i'll probably use less cornmeal and less milk, and no water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I spent a lot of time down south and these were awful. We tried it twice because we thought we made a mistake. They were soupy and tasteless. Missing flour and sugar would be my guess. Somebody forgot something. Stay clear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
horrible, i tried it twice thinking i might have screwed it up, it made a cornmeal soup, measurements must be off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
After reading the reviews, I used 1 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of water and it turned out fine. Next time I will add more seasonings but this is a good start as a basic hush puppy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Why does this have so many stars? I made the mistake of making up the recipe without reading the reviews first. It was absolutely gloppy. Will not make this recipe again. about 1 cup of flour later an additional cup of corn flour and a 1/2 a cup of suger i was close to good to go. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA97303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This recipe is not good, the batter was way to goopy, I had to add flour and more cornmeal to it. This is not a traditional southern Hush Puppy recipe, I would never use it again. I am shocked that it received 4 stars. I thought the receipe had too many wet ingredients, I should have trusted my first instinct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I followed the recipe to a tee and it was still to goopy so I added the following: 3/4 C flour, 1/2 tsp. more salt, 1/2 C. sugar and they turned out Perfect!!! Everybody loved them! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
As a child I hated hushpuppies. But I saw a recipe that made me want to try it again. I checked here for a quicker one an....WOW, this was the best thing I had ever tasted. It was fast, easy, little clean up and I was able to do it while chatting on line. Now that is what I call a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States