Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I did not care for these much, there just wasn't much flavor to them. I even added more onion and garlic powder. They were also very dry. We were really disappointed =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
These hush puppies are great! The batter does seem a bit loose and we were afraid of using it, but they turned out great! We eventually added a bit more flour and corn meal towards the end - just to see what happened and they weren't nearly as good. Mix as directed. Cook as directed - they are perfect...and taste amazing with the Tartar Sauce I recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
The ingredients are simple and they are easy to make but the flavor is bland and they did not keep well over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhilipD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was the best but I added corn and a cup of flour. and will for sure will make again .. the recipe makes to much for us so I made half the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda  Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kake, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
It's tough to find good hush puppies in the northwest, so I had to make my own... this recipe is awesome! Exactly what I had been craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Didnt turn out at all. Batter was VERY runny. Probably wont try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good flavor but way too watery - added more cornmeal and some corn starch to thicken. Formed the balls and were way too hard on the outside after being fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I would recommend using self-rising cornmeal for one thing and use only half the amount and for the other half panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryebomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Great tasting! I reduced the water to less than 1/4 cup, based on other reviews. Instead of minced onion, I used powdered onion (about 1/8 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These turned out really well. Kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States