Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Not as flavorful as the ones I've had down south. Still searching for that elusive "something" that will make these puppies "pop"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Made these once for a fish fry at my Lodge and am now in charge of hush puppies for all times. Very simple recipe and perfect old-fashioned taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Unmitigated disaster of a recipe. The batter was waaaaay to wet. Efforts at firming it up required a substantial amount of flour & cornmeal. The result was a flavor not worth eating. Find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I did not care for these much, there just wasn't much flavor to them. I even added more onion and garlic powder. They were also very dry. We were really disappointed =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
These hush puppies are great! The batter does seem a bit loose and we were afraid of using it, but they turned out great! We eventually added a bit more flour and corn meal towards the end - just to see what happened and they weren't nearly as good. Mix as directed. Cook as directed - they are perfect...and taste amazing with the Tartar Sauce I recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
The ingredients are simple and they are easy to make but the flavor is bland and they did not keep well over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhilipD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was the best but I added corn and a cup of flour. and will for sure will make again .. the recipe makes to much for us so I made half the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Carner Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kake, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
It's tough to find good hush puppies in the northwest, so I had to make my own... this recipe is awesome! Exactly what I had been craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Didnt turn out at all. Batter was VERY runny. Probably wont try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good flavor but way too watery - added more cornmeal and some corn starch to thicken. Formed the balls and were way too hard on the outside after being fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States