Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe awesome! As soon as they came out of the oil, they were gone. I usually just use onion powder, but this time I used fresh minced onion. What a difference. Also, I added dried parsley but strictly for presentation purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I prepared the recipe as written and was very disappointed. The hush puppies turned out rubbery and har
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This is a great recipe. I have used a very similar recipe for years. It used baking soda as opposed to the baking powder, but the same otherwise. I like to add some cayenne pepper or chopped jalapenos to step up the flavor, since my family like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Heltonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
followed the recipe exactly and they were WAAAY TO WATERY.I wish I would have read the reviews. They fell apart in the oil and were dry as a bone...I don't understand how the reviews can be so mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Lise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
i used flour instead of cornmeal and cut out on the water.. and used about 5 or 6 onions.. TURNED OUT AMAZING!!!!!! So oniony.. loved it. will make again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Followed the recipe to a T. The flavor was bland to us. I would up the seasoning if I made again, but I don't think we will be cooking these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is what I remember from childhood. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I only rated a 4 because the recipe gives a good BASE to start hush puppies. Add one or more of these: garlic salt, a splash of hot sauce, chili powder, creamed corn, diced jalapenos or bell pepper. Also, use flour to thicken...not more corn meal, try using a cheese grater on the onion instead of dicing it and use BEER instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The consistency of these was perfect. I did end up adding 1/4 c of flour as one reviewer suggested. First of all, you must let the batter sit for a moment to absorb all the liquid. Second, it is almost impossible to "shape the batter" as suggested. Simply scoop out about a teaspoon or so and drop into the grease. They will NOT be nice and round, but they will still come out great. Now as far as seasonings go, this recipe was bland. We added lots more seasonings like garlic, red pepper, etc. I personally thing some diced jalapenos and maybe even a little finely cut bell pepper would make these puppies perfect. The main reason I review is because I was really worried about this recipe after all of the reviews. However, I can promise you that if you add more cornmeal to the mix, it will not come out right. If anything, add some flour (self-rising is best I hear, but I just used regular flour). I added 1/4 cup, but maybe 1/2 a cup would have been better. My hard to please family really liked these. If you want pretty hush puppies for entertaining you will want to find a different recipe, but this is great for family dinners! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Not as flavorful as the ones I've had down south. Still searching for that elusive "something" that will make these puppies "pop"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States