Hush Puppies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I used tepid water (80f/27c) and let the batter rise 20 minutes before dropping in the fryer. Like I learned cooking at a fast food restaurant. No extras needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe leaving out the onions and added about 1/4 cup honey. Very tasty with halibut tempura.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I tried to half this recipe because we didn't need 2 dozen hush puppies but 1/2 an egg is just not possible (LOL!!) so I did everything half and left the 1 FULL egg in. It was still pretty goopy so I added about 3/4 cup flour to thicken it up. It looked goopy but when I added a ball to the oil... it came out AMAZING! It went really well with the topsail catfish we caught the day before! Best hush puppy recipe I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley Bri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, I had to add a lot of flour and cornmeal because it was very liquidy. We also thought they were a bit bland. The second time i made them I reduced the liquid and replaced the salt with creole seasoning, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
after i made these i tasted them and they were not that good they had bitter after taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Very wet. I had to add much more cornmeal to get the goop to form balls. Very bland flavor too. I wouldn't recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I thought that by following the reviewers advice of adding more self-rising cornmeal and flour would insure that these hush puppies would turn out reasonably well. I even used a thermometer to bring the oil to 365 degrees to insure success with this recipe. I studied other hush puppy recipes and found this recipe lacked sugar which is a staple for hush puppies and added 1/2 cup. With all the improvements and advice I took, the careful watching of oil temperature, these were a big flop. The oil temp. of 365 is way to hot producing burnt outsides and mushy insides, the batter with the addition of 3/4 cup of additional flour and 3/4 cup of additional cornmeal still was not enough. If that wasn't enough, the taste was just plain. I can typically doctor up a iffy recipe with success but these were a waste of time, ingredients and just stunk up the house with that oily smell. I'm sad to give such a bad review when I had such high hopes of hush puppy success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very delicious and light!! Best served with catfish or king fish with a side of cold cole-slaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Did not have the taste or texture of hush puppies. It was ok but it wasn't hush puppies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I made these for American Night here at my German university and they were a hit. We had some trouble thickening the batter, but other than that they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States