Husband's Grandmother's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I live in south Louisiana and have been making gumbo for 40 years. Thsi is absolutely the best gumbo recipe I have made and actually the only time that I have used a recipe for years. My husband loved it and he is a true cajun. Don't leave anything out. Since I don't like to stand a long time with the roux, I have started using Savoie's Real Cajun Roux, it is a dry browned flour and comes in a pint jar. You cannot tell the difference from the roux that you make yourself. I wish I would have had it years ago. Anyone that wants a real southern cajun gumbo, just has to make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This dish is absolutely delicious, I made it w/o the okra b/c I had none but those were majority of my alterations. Puts me back on Bourbon street and warms me to my toes, this recipe is going straight into my cookbook :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made gumbo for the first time using this recipe. From the raves I received from all those that ate it, I can honestly say it was a big success. Wonderful recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have tried about 5 different gumbo recipes over the past couple of years, played with them and tried to tweak them to get the taste I wanted. Didn't have to do a thing to this one...it is PERFECT and tastes just like the gumbo I had while visiting LA. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Use less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Well rounded flavors. I love the texture varieties and colors. Having 3 types of meat gives me a biased opinion thought! I will hopefully be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I've never made gumbo before but had it at a friends house and I had to make it myself. This recipe is the best! Very time consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was fabulous! I made it last night exactly by the recipe, and it turned out great! We served it over rice with crusty french bread, and it made a hearty meal. Anyone planning to make it needs, to set aside several hours, but it's WELL worth it. My only advice is to wear comfortable shoes because you'll be stirring the roux for a looooong time. Stir it until you think nothing's going to happen, then stir it a while longer, and it will be ready. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made this for Father's Day. It was time consuming but well worth the effort. It wasn't hard just a lot steps. Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. I'll make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruskin, Florida, USA
Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I cut this in half and served it over rice with Artisan bread. Easy, delicious, and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States