Husband's Grandmother's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I live in south Louisiana and have been making gumbo for 40 years. Thsi is absolutely the best gumbo recipe I have made and actually the only time that I have used a recipe for years. My husband loved it and he is a true cajun. Don't leave anything out. Since I don't like to stand a long time with the roux, I have started using Savoie's Real Cajun Roux, it is a dry browned flour and comes in a pint jar. You cannot tell the difference from the roux that you make yourself. I wish I would have had it years ago. Anyone that wants a real southern cajun gumbo, just has to make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I have been looking for a cajun shrimp gumbo like my great grandmother used to make, and this really, really comes close. The secret is the canned tomatoes and peppers. She always used it in all her cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My husband LOVED it, as he loves anything spicy and Cajun. Personally, even though I'm not a finicky eater, didn't care much for it. Too many textures. But it's a good recipe and I"ll make it again if only for him! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkthonak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This dish is absolutely delicious, I made it w/o the okra b/c I had none but those were majority of my alterations. Puts me back on Bourbon street and warms me to my toes, this recipe is going straight into my cookbook :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have tried about 5 different gumbo recipes over the past couple of years, played with them and tried to tweak them to get the taste I wanted. Didn't have to do a thing to this one...it is PERFECT and tastes just like the gumbo I had while visiting LA. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made gumbo for the first time using this recipe. From the raves I received from all those that ate it, I can honestly say it was a big success. Wonderful recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I cut this in half and served it over rice with Artisan bread. Easy, delicious, and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was fabulous! I made it last night exactly by the recipe, and it turned out great! We served it over rice with crusty french bread, and it made a hearty meal. Anyone planning to make it needs, to set aside several hours, but it's WELL worth it. My only advice is to wear comfortable shoes because you'll be stirring the roux for a looooong time. Stir it until you think nothing's going to happen, then stir it a while longer, and it will be ready. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The gumbo was wonderful, I left out the sausage and used crabmeat in addition to the shrimp. Lots of ingredients but a smaller yield than I would have liked. I will say that this really does take a long time, but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Use less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States