Husband's Grandmother's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I wanted to make something nice and special on Fat Tuesday, so I decided to try this. I followed it exactly, and everyone in my family loved it! Had some leftover, and I enjoyed it just as much second time around! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Nothing special with this one. Had to add tons of salt and other seasoning to bring it up to speed. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becsuehen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Bacon in gumbo now??!! We loved it lol!! Served this over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made this for Father's Day. It was time consuming but well worth the effort. It wasn't hard just a lot steps. Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. I'll make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruskin, Florida, USA
Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was fabulous! I made it last night exactly by the recipe, and it turned out great! We served it over rice with crusty french bread, and it made a hearty meal. Anyone planning to make it needs, to set aside several hours, but it's WELL worth it. My only advice is to wear comfortable shoes because you'll be stirring the roux for a looooong time. Stir it until you think nothing's going to happen, then stir it a while longer, and it will be ready. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I've never made gumbo before but had it at a friends house and I had to make it myself. This recipe is the best! Very time consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Well rounded flavors. I love the texture varieties and colors. Having 3 types of meat gives me a biased opinion thought! I will hopefully be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
It was a very delicious dish although it was very time consuming it all went well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elva Baez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Use less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The gumbo was wonderful, I left out the sausage and used crabmeat in addition to the shrimp. Lots of ingredients but a smaller yield than I would have liked. I will say that this really does take a long time, but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States