Hurricane's Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made this tonight and my husband told me to add it to my favorite recipes and to make it often. To be honest he loved it more than I did, to me it was ok it didn't have the wow factor, but hey its not that difficult to make and if it pleased the hubby I will make it often. I think it needs maybe some small apple chunks added to the stuffing or the chicken mixture that might round out the flavor. I did however saute a small onion and chopped carrots and one clove garlic in a bit of olive oil and added to the soups (lowfat) and chicken along with some green beans, no peas and no french onion. This might be a perfect dish to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This wasn't awesome, but it was a pretty good, comfort-food kind of dish. I made it almost exactly as written, using Stove Top "savory herbs" stuffing. My amounts of chicken were slightly less, and carrots slightly more (2 x 8.25 oz. cans), than the recipe specified. I noted that even a baking time of 20 minutes didn't suffice to heat the dish properly, so the "until heated through" definitely applied in my case. This was kind of like chicken-pot-pie filling on a bed of stuffing. Thank goodness the stuffing was pretty savory, otherwise the dish would've been a bit bland; in fact, I thought the peas and carrots could've used some kind of seasoning. But this was definitely worth making, and I enjoyed it for three dinners in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Followed directions. Found it only o.k. to my liking. Probably won't make again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a family favorite. I did change it up a bit to reflect my own personal tastes. Instead of the peas and carrots, I used the frozen broccoli, cauliflower, carrot mix in the freezer aisle. I also added cheese to it before the french fried onions. My husband hates casseroles in general, but he'll eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This was AWESOME! My husband HATES chicken and asked for this again!!! I did modify it a tiny bit. I added half an onion (diced) and 2 garlic cloves (diced) and substituted cream of mushroom for the cream of celery. Thank you so much for this fantastic recipe! I think it's become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
With a few changes this was a winner. I saute'd 1/2 sweet onion and 1 stalk of celery and added to the stuffing after it was cooked. I used fresh asparagus, cut in 1" pieces instead of the canned peas (yuck!). I distributed the pieces over the stuffing in the dish. Instead of canned carrots, I used canned baby corn on the cob, but won't use them again. I used 16oz of leftover rotisserie chicken, cubed. And, I seasoned the soup mixture with pepper. The asparagus came out al dente, adding a nice texture to an otherwise "mushy" dish. We'll definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I have made this a few times with no changes and my family loves it every time. Nice and easy too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Great casserole, and very versatile. I make this about once a month and love it because I can just toss in whatever veggies I have on hand. Yummy tasting, and it smells so good in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was a BIG hit! Everybody loved it and went back for seconds. We followed the recipe just as stated, and it came out perfect. Very quick and easy-thank you so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANDO6116

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was pretty good, not the best chicken casserole I have had, but we liked it. It was a nice variation of a chicken pot pie, and I love the French onions on top!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States