Hurricane I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Yes, it's yummy and authentic. But watch out, especially when serving to guests. It doesn't taste as boozy as it is. It looks like a big Shirley Temple, goes down very easily, and tastes like a delicious fruit punch with a nice splash of rum. NOT! I had to take a nap. But I do recommend it as a sipper! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Made for a very tasty, fruity, not so knock-you-on-your-butt with one little change... we replaced the amaretto with Malibu for a little more of a tropical flavor that all participants at our "hurricane tasting" really preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElaineT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenmore, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
Very good! I like my fruit driks blended and it tasted great. Others enjoyed theirs on the rocks. Thanks for a great drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
THANK YOU, Kim, for a FABULOUS Hurricane!! It's just what we needed here in Minnesota to help combat "Cabin Fever" in February!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Blech!!! Not the way I remember it from the beach. Too much dark rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Aha! Amaretto was what I was missing all this time...Almost perfect! I say almost & rated this 4 stars instead of 5 only because to be perfect, I'd have to be drinking this in New Orleans! Also, i added a splash more dark rum cuz i love it so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirl45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Fantastic drink. I make Yellow Birds the same way except I substitute Galliano for Amaretto. It's a nice way to enjoy the sunset from your sunroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is my new signature drink. I make it differently every time depending what I have on hand. I usually use a orange/mango mixed juice. I have used both lemonade and pineapple juice. I add all the alcohol listed, but instead of grenadine, I use Raspberry Liqueur. It is always a hit and gone fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This drink is really what has been known previously as a "Yellow Bird". The only difference was the addition of the grenedine which changed the color. Be sure to only serve one drink to a person as this drink can make you tipsy very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I stuck to the recipe but added a splash of Malibu, very yummy, just like ones we had in Aruba!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hurricane Cocktail

See how to make New Orleans’ sweetly potent cocktail.

Sazerac Cocktail

This classic rye whiskey cocktail is the official drink of New Orleans.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States