Hurricane Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This was good. Took others suggestion and added craisins and slivered almonds. Used olive oil instead of vegetable i costed the apples in lemon juice yo prevent browning. yumm everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
VERY good! I also used dried craisins, then raisins, apple, cranberry and slivered almonds. No salt (restrictions), but I added black pepper and onion powder. I also used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Thank you for such a wonderful-and tasty- idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was surprisingly good! I made this as part of my mom's birthday dinner, and all the guests loved it. I substituted dried cranberries for the golden raisins, added one chopped celery stalk (for extra crunch and color), and only used a splash of olive oil instead of the 1/2 cup vegetable oil. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This is a YUMMY salad! I made this up for a Thanksgiving potluck dinner with friends and EVERYONE was raving about it and asking for the recipe! I love how I was able to make the salad last night, leave it out on the counter overnight and throughout the entire day today and the salad is still as fresh and tasty as if I'd just made it. GREAT salad. (I don't usually say that about stuff that is so good for me! So you know this has to be good...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Just made this up. Gotta say it was better than expected. I used this other step in it that only has. Adding that step definentely made it alot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is a great way to prepare raw carrots- surprisingly tasty for such a simple/easy recipe. I too added lemon juice and just a splash of olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I used my food processor- so it came together very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heiditx1979

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
It tasted okay, but also healthy. But it wasn't overly tasty or exciting. It probably would have been better with Imae's suggestion to add things like cranberries and celery as suggested. The apple started going brown quickly so I added a little lemon juice to stop it. I also replaced the vegetable oil with olive oil and cut down on the amount of it. The kids didn't enjoy it, but ate it reluctantly (only because I told them I spent a long time cutting and grating the ingredients). But definitely would probably appeal more to health conscious adults than kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is a good basic recipe, but I substituted dried canberries for the dark raisins and used toasted slivered almonds. I also added celery and some toasted almond oil. I did cut back on the oil. Loved the name of the recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States