Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is one of the best cakes I've ever had. I'm not that fond of German Chocolate cake mixes so I used a Devil Foods. The third time I made it, I sprinkled some semi-sweet chocolate chips in the pecan layer and that made it even better. The cake is so moist and delicious. The second day it's even better. Another thing, the first time I made it the pecan/coconut layer stuck to the bottom really bad so the next 3 times I cooked it (yeah it's a big hit), I lined the cake pan with parchment paper with the paper overlapping the sides so when the cake was cooled I could pop it out the pan and put it on a decorative plate. There was no sticking whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoviceCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grangeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Walker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Delicious. Best to leave it overnight or for several hours though before eating as it needs time to blend and settle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Tumut, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This cake is great! I do not use butter in the bottom of the pan. I just sprinkle the nuts and coconut on the bottom and pour cake batter on top. The cake comes out of the pan fine that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
Big hit at my office! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is actually the Earthquake Cake! Because this cake is all cracked up on top,(as if the earth had cracked) and a little note to help make the taste even better try this, use coconut pecan frosting along with the original recipe(coconut and pecans). Just by adding the frosting it just makes it a bit more tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I'm a 13 year-old rookie cook and that recipe was so easy (and there weren't many dishes...) It tasted sooo good! The bottom was hard to get out of the pan but it was worth it! My whole family loved the recipe, and I plan to make it for my birthday. It stayed moist for days! Thank-you Iris, you made me look good! P.S. It really deserves 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Dang, this is a good cake. I made it in round pans and inverted onto cake plates after thoroughly cooled. It looked great and served well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
The only change I made was omitting the butter in the bottom of the pan--I just 'pammed' the bottom and there was no sticking. I received many compliments and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
VERY GOOD!! I made this for guests and everyone LOVED it! I was surprised that the cream cheese mixture sank more than some of the other pictures showed and than I expected. I made it exactly as the recipe said and it was perfect. (3 3/4 cup is the 1lb box of powdered sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This cake is delicious! Its even more yummier if you leave it to refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ramirez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States