Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Thank you thank you thank you for this delicious recipe! I'm not a beginner cook, nor am I an expert, but this recipe is fantastic! I followed it exactly, (I excluded coconut, no one I know likes it 'cept me... )= and used butter instead of margarine and replaced it with chocolate chips! Yum!) and it turned out perfect! I also added ganache to make it rich, and my mother loved it! (Made it yesterday for today) So in conclusion, this recipe was beautifully done, so thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieGirl
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Delicious Cake! The reason I did not give this recipe 5 stars is because I had to change a couple of things. I did not add butter to the pan, I simply greased it and I did not melt the cream cheese mixture in a saucepan, I just softened it before mixing with an electric mixer. The cake came out perfect and the top looked like an earthquake. THIS IS AN EARTHQUAKE CAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Not the prettiest cake ever, but deffinatly one of the most tasty. a lot like a german chocolate, but much better awsome with coffee. Simple easy to make and anyone that like chocolate will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
VERY GOOD!! I made this for guests and everyone LOVED it! I was surprised that the cream cheese mixture sank more than some of the other pictures showed and than I expected. I made it exactly as the recipe said and it was perfect. (3 3/4 cup is the 1lb box of powdered sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Prepared exactly as recipe read. Wonderful texture. I saved to my recipe box and noted for my taste I will reduce the confectioners' sugar by 1/2. Everything else remains the same. Thanks Iris for a great dessert cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this for my bookclub and there wasn't one person who didn't ask for the recipe. I was hesitant to make it because I'm not that crazy about german chocolate cake, but I'm so glad I made it. It was one of the best cakes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
It tastes great but it's loaded with calories from fat and sugar. To help relieve at least a little of this problem I only used 1 cup of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
The cake is great, very moist. I reduced the icing sugar to 2 cups and melted he mixture just enough to pour over the cake. I'm going to double the cream cheese mixture for a quick and easy cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I tried this cake because I love german chocolate cake and cheesecake, and I didnt regret it.. the whole family loved this. For some reason this cake taste better the next day after you make it but good luck trying to keep that long. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Larez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very moist and good. Sprayed pan with cooking spray and worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States