Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Just made this. OMG!!!! Sooo good. I had no pecans so I used almonds. Also had no confectioners' sugar, so I used Fruit sugar (really finely ground sugar). I only used 1 cup. Turned out amazing!!!! Others have said that it stuck to the pan. I put the nuts in before adding the coconut, came out of the pan perfect. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this for my moms birthday and it was perfect. I do not care for german chocolate so I used regular chocolate cake mix and it was still awesome! I agree with other reviews its even better on day 2. Thank you so much. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Simple - delicious - baked it for a hurricane party last night & can't stop eating it today! Just want to point out that you definitely don't need a whole stick of marge on the bottom - a couple of tablespoons did fine for me - and the calorie count of 548 based on 12 pieces = really massive hunks of cake! You can cut it into 15 or even 20 pieces and they would still be good-size, less guilt-ridden, chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This this deliciously evil, just sinful. There is only one way to describe the taste "more" b/c you just can't get enough. I made this for work and it went fast. I didn't change a thing only took the advice of another reviewer with laying the bottom with parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This recipe was so simple and easy. I made two pans last night. We ate one pan warm and then let the other refrigerate overnight. I served it to company this afternoon and they told me it was a 5 star recipe:) Like some of the other reviewers, I also had problems with it getting stuck to the bottom of the pan. This only happened to the pan that was refrigerated. The one we ate warm I had no problem with at all. My family all said that it is more rich when you eat it fresh out of the oven, almost too rich. Nonetheless, this recipe has become a new family favorite. Thanks for sharing!! BTW, its AWESOME with a glass of milk:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
i havnt made this cake yet, but from all the reviews, it seems delicious, im just a little confused though by the directions. It says to pour the batter into the prepared pan twice? Once over the coconuts and pecans, and again near the end. Am i only supposed to pour half and then the other half later?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karaanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
So easy and delicious. I used 1/2 the melted butter and used chocolate chips instead of pecans and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Easy to make and pretty tasty, not decadent. I used parchment paper (no margarine on the base) and added 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips as well. I also used butter in the cream cheese instead of margarine, and only used about 2/3 of the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I only used 2 tbsp of butter for the bottom, instead of the 1/2 cup. My cream cheese portion really sunk deep into the cake (I was expecting it to look like the first picture)...BUT the taste was outstanding. My mother, who's birthday this cake was for was in hog heaven, and we had no leftovers at all. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
The cake was okay straight out of the oven warm, but absolutely delicious the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States