Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Awesome! Some modifications... I used only one stick of butter and melted it with the cream cheese in the microwave. I used 4 cups of confectioners sugar. The recipe I had said to bake for 45 minutes and I used the convection setting on my oven and it was perfectly done at this time. When it cooled, I also melted Ghiradelli chocolate over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Loved the flavor tried to make them into cupcakes would not recommend, but as a cake it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Moist and delicious (used black magic cake) but not loved by my family. Amy and Dad B enjoyed it ( and Corynn). Very much like an upside down German chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
EVERYONE loves this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This cake is sooooo good. I took it to work, everyone loved it. It is one the tastiest cakes I have ever had. It is fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesmeow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Just made this today and it was sooo delicious! I took someone's advice and added chocolate chips and white choc chips on the bottom layer. Other than that, I followed the exact recipe. Don't pass up on this cake... It won't dissapoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I am a certified cake-oholic and this cake didn't quite hit the mark for me. The best part was the super-moist cake, but my cream cheese mixture sunk to the bottom of the dish and created a sticky goo with the pecans and coconut. Yes, still tasty, but a long way away from the best cake I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
So good!! It gets better with age too :) My cream cheese sunk as the others mentioned, but it was still really tasty. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good cake & beautiful in a bundt form
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAYDELOTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Just made this. OMG!!!! Sooo good. I had no pecans so I used almonds. Also had no confectioners' sugar, so I used Fruit sugar (really finely ground sugar). I only used 1 cup. Turned out amazing!!!! Others have said that it stuck to the pan. I put the nuts in before adding the coconut, came out of the pan perfect. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States