Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Heaven in a pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyfar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I love this cake. It hits the mark when you need something sweet. Cream cheese, pecans, coconut, and chocolate....how can you go wrong? The only thing that would make it better is peanut butter. Now that's a thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this for a cookout on this holiday weekend and got raving reviews from everyone who tasted it. I sprayed the pan with Pam and had no trouble getting the pieces out. I also took another reviewer's suggestion and added some semi-sweet chocolate chunks to the pecan/coconut layer and toasted the pecans and coconut to enhance their flavors. This was an "ugly", but very good cake that I plan on making over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I would give this 10 stars if I could. I made this for my birthday. I only used 1/4 cup margarine with the coconut. I used almonds because that is what I had on hand. I only used about 1 cup of powdered sugar. I baked it in a bundt pan instead. Very decadent and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Patton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
WOW!! This cake was amazingly fabulous! I didn't have a chocolate cake mix on hand, but I had a carrot cake mix and thought the combination of coconuts, pecans, etc. would be an excellent blend. No turning back! My husband raved about this until it was gone and then wanted me to bake another. The only other change was I used butter instead of margarine. I had no sticking to the pan. This recipe will be in my TOP 3 list of favorites!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I would either halve or eliminate the first butter. I will make it again, but without the butter. Usedparchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I should state up front that I am not a chocolate lover, especially a chocolate cake lover. With that said, I was a little dissappointed in this cake. I found all the ingredients being things I love (aside from the chocolate cake). I just expected more I suppose. I served it warm and then went back later and tried a piece that was cool. It did taste better after cooling. My brother in law (whose not a cake eater either) said it was the best cake he'd ever had. So it's all in opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Originally I thought this cake might be dry, but I was so wrong! The gooey stuff at the bottom totally make this cake delicious. I'm not a fan of coconut so I left it out and it still turned out wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I thought this was GREAT! I didnt have any problems with sinking, etc. But my advice is DEFINITELY make this a day ahead. It gets better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Awesome! Some modifications... I used only one stick of butter and melted it with the cream cheese in the microwave. I used 4 cups of confectioners sugar. The recipe I had said to bake for 45 minutes and I used the convection setting on my oven and it was perfectly done at this time. When it cooled, I also melted Ghiradelli chocolate over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States