Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My cream cheese mixture never sank but stayed on top and became a chewy, sticky mess. It is the reason I only gave this 4 stars. The taste of the cake, however, was fabulous. I will definitely make this again but will pour only 1/2 the cake batter over the coconut & pecans, then pour the cream cheese mixture, and then the final layer of cake batter. BTW my butter, coconut, and pecans didn't stick to the pan like many others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This cake was absolutely amazing!!! I had marble cake on hand and used 2 cups powdered sugar and it still turned out great. Hint for making powdered sugar with regular sugar: place 1 1/2 cups sugar and one tbsp cornstarch in a blender and blend, makes about two cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
It was beautiful, unfortunately, all I tasted was the excessive confectioners sugar in the cream cheese mixture. I think this cake would be amazing with 1/3 or 1/2 as much confectioner's sugar. Perhaps that would bring out the cream cheese taste? Also, I used 1/2 the butter in the bottom of the pan and it was plenty moist after baking, gooey even. Every other detail was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
yes it is gooey but delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I love this cake and had been planning on baking it all week. Then as I pulled out all the ingredients today I realized that what I thought was a chocolate cake mix in the cupboard was a spice cake mix. It was too late to run to the store and still finish baking so I went ahead with the substitution. It turned out great. I would do this again (on purpose the next time) and perhaps leave the coconut out and toss in some butterscotch chips. It would probably also be good with some finely grated carrots in the spice cake mix too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Not bad but not deserving of its 4 1/2 star rating. Tastes like German chocolate cake except all mixed up. Personally I would prefer the classic German chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daron Rainer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My son said that this is 10 stars out of 5. My husband said that this cake was one of his favorites. This is definitely a hit in my house. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
flavor is good, however my cake was runny in the middle and well done on the outside?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
had this recipe for years love the taste and it carries well to parties easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robert
Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I've made this great cake many times. For those of you who don't like the cream cheese and other ingredients sticking to the bottom of your cake pan, try this: Put 1/3 or 1/2 of the cake batter in a greased 9 X 13 pan. Then, put the coconut, pecans on the batter, followed by the cream cheese mix. Then, put the rest of the cake batter on top and bake as directed. It still gets rave reviews. I prefer using 1 cup of confectioner's sugar with the cream cheese and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States