Hurricane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I toasted my pecans and coconut for the bottom layer -adding butter here is crucial (the first time i made it without - it was too dry and crumbled). I believe there is too much powdered sugar in the recipe - common sense would tell you if the cream cheese mixture is heavier than the cake mix it WILL sink to the bottom. I made mine with a dark chocolate cake mix for more richness. Also, dont cook it too long - moist is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Palowitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
It was so good. The more days it sat, the better it got!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I used butter instead of margarine. Like many others, my cream cheese batter fell to the bottom of the cake. When I served pieces, I made sure to flip the piece over so the cream cheese/coconut/pecan was on top just like a frosting. I had chilled the cake for a while in the fridge, so it did not stick. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Great and easy cake-bar! I brought it to work and everyone LOVED it! Very versitle using different cake mixes too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was an easy recipe and it was so good. Tasted better cold from the frig. Delicious. Huge success with work and home. I'm loved ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Delicious. I did not change anything with the recipe and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Oh my! Made this this morning and we just ate a piece tonight. It is definitely a keeper. So good and so easy. I used a devils food cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCSEWLADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My cream cheese mixture never sank but stayed on top and became a chewy, sticky mess. It is the reason I only gave this 4 stars. The taste of the cake, however, was fabulous. I will definitely make this again but will pour only 1/2 the cake batter over the coconut & pecans, then pour the cream cheese mixture, and then the final layer of cake batter. BTW my butter, coconut, and pecans didn't stick to the pan like many others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This cake was absolutely amazing!!! I had marble cake on hand and used 2 cups powdered sugar and it still turned out great. Hint for making powdered sugar with regular sugar: place 1 1/2 cups sugar and one tbsp cornstarch in a blender and blend, makes about two cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
It was beautiful, unfortunately, all I tasted was the excessive confectioners sugar in the cream cheese mixture. I think this cake would be amazing with 1/3 or 1/2 as much confectioner's sugar. Perhaps that would bring out the cream cheese taste? Also, I used 1/2 the butter in the bottom of the pan and it was plenty moist after baking, gooey even. Every other detail was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States