Hunter's Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The venison turned out great! I only could fit one beer to cover our roast, and I wasn't sure about the pepperoncini juices so I just pulled the peppers from the jar with a fork and let just the juice that fell out with the peppers get in the crock pot. It actually sat in the crock pot for about 10-11 hours before we ate. I took the meat out and it looked a little dry, but I pulled it apart and covered it in the juices. Fed it to six people who said they couldn't tell the difference between beef. Excellent recipe! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was a nice recipe, meat was very tender and the pepperoncinis provided a nice level of heat. I seasoned the meat generously before I put it in the slow cooker. I wouldn't rave about it though. I've got much nicer venison recipes so I'm not sure I'll be rushing back to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
2nd time making this; turns out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I did not find it at all flavorful, was there a certain type of pepperoncini brand? or beer? my boyfriend who loves venison was truly disappointed in wasting a good cut of meat for this roast :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
For those who said it was too gamey, I agree soak it in milk and perhaps use a milk stout as your cooking liquid. Also a roast from a buck will be far tougher and gamier (if that's a word) than a doe, so it may be something to take into consideration as well before trying this recipe. I thought this was great. You can change the flavor vastly with the type of beer you use and the peppers... lucky for me my husband bagged 2 deer this year. Next time I may season the roast by doing a dry rub and brown it before placing it in the crock pot...maybe a couple onions would be nice too. Thanks ELLIEA for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
A great recipe - so easy and very delicious! I also soaked my venison roast in milk overnight. I served it with some roasted veggies - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very dry. no flavor at all. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
all i have to say is awesome! my husband who has hunted and eaten deer meat for years never has eaten a deer roast so when i made this he was shocked how good it was and wished he had gotten another cant wait to make next deer season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
One word for this recipe...WOW! This dish was not gamey or rich. You could easily serve this without "warning" anyone that it is deer. This will be a new staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I used Heineken beer which was perfect. If you like it spicy use some of the peppercini juice. I seasoned it with garlic, salt, pepper, and italian seasoning and it was perfect. Not gamey at all. So easy! Sure to get complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States