Hunter Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This was very tasty! The only changes I would make would be to add plenty of minced garlic to the sauteed onions, then when the onions are done, blend in a tablespoon or two of tomato paste to give the sauce a little more body. Then don't add the mushrooms until about 15 minutes before the dish is done. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was excellent and so easy to make. I cooked the bacon first though, and then cooked the chicken for a minute in the drippings instead of cooking the chicken in oil (removing) and then cooking the bacon in the oil like the recipe stated. Also added a bit of fresh garlic with the onions (I used shallots). Delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Pure goodness. I only used the breast & thighs of a whole cut up chicken in this (there was only two of us). I coated my chicken w/ some flour and then browned it and set it aside. I added a couple of tbs of margarine and sauted the mushrooms in that pan along with a couple of shallots that I subbed for the onions. I added the wine and then reduced it, then added some chicken broth, about 1/2 cup and seasonings. I peeled and seeded the tomatos (I use roma's), quartered them and simmered it all together for about 30 minutes. Served it over steamed rice......an absolutly "guest worthy" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
So good! My family really loved this recipe. I followed it very closely-- my only deviations were to add some chopped artichoke hearts (my husband and I love them) and I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, drained, since fresh tomatoes didn't look so good at the store. This is was very, very flavorful. I served it over egg noodles with steamed spinach. My kids even enjoyed the chicken. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKALANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This recipe was very good. Not quite as good as I had thought it was going to be though. My kids liked it but my friend who was here for dinner did not like it at all. I think the next time I make this recipe I will try it without the wine or perhaps get a better wine than cooking wine I had on hand. I think it was my cheapy wine that threw the flavor off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
With just a few tweaks, this is 5 stars. I doubled the fresh herbs and held off putting in the basil until the last 10 minutes of cooking. Before I browned the chicken I dredged it in flour seasoned w/ s&p, and a trace of chipotle powder for a touch of smoke, as I don't eat red meat (the bacon). Since I used the flour and no bacon, I added a bit more oil before sauteeing the veggies. I included a couple of coarsely diced carrots and 2 minced cloves of garlic w/ the onions & mushrooms, as I'd seen in other, similar recipes. Two full-sized tomatoes make a lb. if, like most Americans, you don't have a food scale. For the cooking wine, I chose a decent Garnacha--an inexpensive, low tannin, Spanish red, but if you can get Dolcetto on sale that would be great. Don't forget to offer lots of crusty Italian bread to sop up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Time I rated this one as I have used it many times - it is excellent - sometimes I have used both red and white wine in this depending what I have left over - either turns out equally well and I add a little crushed garlic - we love it - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I didn't have a whole chicken so I used chicken breasts. This recipe was one of the best! I loved the bacon flavoring in the background, not too overwhelming. I did spice mine up quite a bit with lots of fresh garlic and lots of cayenne pepper...A keeper in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I almost never cook with any chicken besides boneless, skinless breasts, but I did make this as the recipe called for. Thankfully the grocery store had whole already-cut-up chickens, so that made things easier. I thought it would be way too much food for my 3-person family, but it was great! We all really enjoyed it, including the semi-picky -yr-old. I loved the sauce over rice I served with it, also. It's already on this week's menu again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Excellent! Added 3 cloves of minced garlic and used a very good quality Zinfandel as my wine. Served with roasted red potatoes and garnished with Parmesan cheese right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States