Hunter Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I didn't have a whole chicken so I used chicken breasts. This recipe was one of the best! I loved the bacon flavoring in the background, not too overwhelming. I did spice mine up quite a bit with lots of fresh garlic and lots of cayenne pepper...A keeper in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Pure goodness. I only used the breast & thighs of a whole cut up chicken in this (there was only two of us). I coated my chicken w/ some flour and then browned it and set it aside. I added a couple of tbs of margarine and sauted the mushrooms in that pan along with a couple of shallots that I subbed for the onions. I added the wine and then reduced it, then added some chicken broth, about 1/2 cup and seasonings. I peeled and seeded the tomatos (I use roma's), quartered them and simmered it all together for about 30 minutes. Served it over steamed rice......an absolutly "guest worthy" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Well, we liked this recipe. WE SKINNED OUR CHICKEN PIECES, then browned in oil with infused garlic, we also used rotel diced tomatos. It turned out great, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Good recipe, but I used crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce. Added more seasonings to the sauce and seasoned each piece of chicken prior to browning. I let this simmer for quite awhile to really bring out the flavors. I didn't see the need to brown the chicken in the evoo as the chicken skin gave off enough oil on its own. A nice hearty dish for a chilly night. Thanks a lot Diane!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was bland. I seasoned, remembering that bacon is salty, it didn't help. I will try again and consider adding capers or a hot sauce or something for a little zest. A good base, just needs something to spruce it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Unfortunately, I found that this was only fair at best. Too big of a recipe for a skillet. The flavors were a bit overwhelming - too much going on. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was OK. Maybe my problem was that I used canned chopped tomatoes instead of fresh, but whatever it was, I didn't find this blend of flavors appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I almost never cook with any chicken besides boneless, skinless breasts, but I did make this as the recipe called for. Thankfully the grocery store had whole already-cut-up chickens, so that made things easier. I thought it would be way too much food for my 3-person family, but it was great! We all really enjoyed it, including the semi-picky -yr-old. I loved the sauce over rice I served with it, also. It's already on this week's menu again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This was very good. It made a lot too. I made it with egg noodles but I think it would go well with rice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
So good! My family really loved this recipe. I followed it very closely-- my only deviations were to add some chopped artichoke hearts (my husband and I love them) and I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, drained, since fresh tomatoes didn't look so good at the store. This is was very, very flavorful. I served it over egg noodles with steamed spinach. My kids even enjoyed the chicken. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKALANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States