Hunter Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
We didn't have any bacon on hand, so I did without. No fresh basil, but we had dried. We didn't have a whole chicken, so I used chicken breasts cut into strips. I did have 8 oz fresh baby bella mushrooms on hand. They were perfect for this. It was quite a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyOSC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Time I rated this one as I have used it many times - it is excellent - sometimes I have used both red and white wine in this depending what I have left over - either turns out equally well and I add a little crushed garlic - we love it - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Fabulous. Will add to our regular roatation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Though tasty - was not a fan. I was hoping to appreciate more bacon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was great. I used canned tomatoes (Muir Glen 28 oz can) and it was great. Got bit thick at the end of cooking (I kept it on the stove for 3+ hours), so I added broth and wine to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This recipe was just ok. I found this recipe too tomato - y and acidic. I could have just as easilt opened a can of tomato sauce and pour it over chicken. Mom's Chicken Cacciatore by Jana is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
this recipe is AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This came out AWESOME. I did change a couple things for time sake, I used pre-cooked bacon and used canned diced tomatoes with green chilies, gave it a nice kick. I also added a cup of spaghetti sauce to thicken it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
We added a clove of garlic, crushed tomatoes left over from another recipe (instead of diced tomatoes), 3 mammoth chicken breasts (about 2lbs) instead of a whole chicken, and (accidentally) a dessert white wine. The recipe was delicious, but the dessert white was a mistake. Also, the chicken came out a little overdone, I suspect marinading it overnight and making sure it's *just* white all the way around will make a big difference. Next time, I think we will add more garlic, use proper white wine, marinade the chicken and use fresh tomatoes. This was delicious, and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Used 3 large chicken breasts, cut each into ~4 pieces. Chicken was a little tougher than I would've liked at the end of cooking, but flavorful. Served with rice, as the sauce is very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States