Hunter Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
With just a few tweaks, this is 5 stars. I doubled the fresh herbs and held off putting in the basil until the last 10 minutes of cooking. Before I browned the chicken I dredged it in flour seasoned w/ s&p, and a trace of chipotle powder for a touch of smoke, as I don't eat red meat (the bacon). Since I used the flour and no bacon, I added a bit more oil before sauteeing the veggies. I included a couple of coarsely diced carrots and 2 minced cloves of garlic w/ the onions & mushrooms, as I'd seen in other, similar recipes. Two full-sized tomatoes make a lb. if, like most Americans, you don't have a food scale. For the cooking wine, I chose a decent Garnacha--an inexpensive, low tannin, Spanish red, but if you can get Dolcetto on sale that would be great. Don't forget to offer lots of crusty Italian bread to sop up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
my family loved it! i rarely have fresh herbs around but it was still very flavorful using dried. i usually use chardonnay for the white wine that recipes call for. it worked well in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was okay, it didn't have much flavor, even though I added red pepper flakes. I think keeping the bacon in withe the liquid made it soggy and flavorless, next time I would sprinkle it on top of each serving while it's crispy. I think this recipe has a lot of potential to be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wbishop
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! We did a slow cooker chicken cacciatori recipe a few weeks ago, and that came nowhere close to how good this was! I used boneless chicken breasts because that's what I had on hand. Had about 2.5 pounds, sliced up. Added in a ton of freshly minced garlic, because it never hurts to have more =) Served over a penne and rigatoni pasta mix. Topped w/ a tad bit of Parmesan cheese. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wbishop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
AWESOME! I will make this again and again! The addition of tomato paste added depth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
So delish! I followed the recipe with the exception of using dried herbs and canned tomato rather than fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I lightly floured/seasoned chicken prior to browning and added garlic with the onions. Very good stuff !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISHUNEB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This made me think of an Italian style Coq au Vin (perhaps because I used red wine). I served it with pasta and it was to die for! I did make a few substitutions based on what I had on hand: chicken legs with the skin removed, a large can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh, red wine instead of white, rosemary instead of basil. In addition, I added pepper and thickened the sauce a bit at the end. I froze the left overs, and they were just as delicious later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Really good! I added garlic per prior reviewers' suggestions. I used dried (rehydrated) shitake mushrooms because I didn't have any fresh. Added 1 can of stewed tomatoes, chopped, because I only had a few fresh tomatoes on hand. Thickened sauce with a roux and served over rotini pasta. Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My whole family liked it, and that's saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States