Hunter Style Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Just delicious! I was hunting for an easy dinner I could prepare ahead for a relatively last minute, casual dinner for company. This was perfect! I started the sauce in the afternoon and left it covered on low, then cooked the chicken a half hour before guests arrived and popped it in the oven. All I had to do was serve a prepped salad and cook the pasta! It was well received and was asked for the recipe (well, being another AR Member, she could find it! Lol!). I Used Italian diced tomatoes, cutting back on the spices. I added more of all the veggies and used just a half a giant Vidalia. Perhaps because it simmered a while, I used a lot more red wine and added some chicken broth, as well. Easily adjusted as needed. Could have been because I used the diced instead of plum but the sauce tasted just a touch bitter to me, so I added a half teaspoon of baking soda to cut the acidity. Loved it and I look forward to making this again! Thanks, Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Fantastic! Plenty of leftovers and that is great news since it was so delicious! Next time around I will halve the recipe and use Littleforestelf's review here as a guide. I love Cacciatore and was surprised at how few recipes there were to choose from, and very surprised how few reviews this one has received. If you want a great, hearty tasting dish folks, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Really enjoyed this dish, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Family loved it! Cut the recipe in half. However, because others reviewed that the sauce cooked down, I used the regular amount of wine and tomato paste instead of halving it. Might use a bit more oregano and basil, but that's a personal seasoning preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
made this..excellent!! Makes ALOT.. for 2 people..used 3 ribs of celery, 2 carrots,1 onion, 1 whole chicken,cut up. In a 13 quart stock pot...(This will keep us fed for 3 to 4 days).. 1 package linguine noodles...Convection oven, 325 degrees for 1-1/2 hours... If camping,I would 1/4 the recipe to keep from going bad in the ice chest. You need a REALLY big dutch oven for the whole recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
worth the effort!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allendale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This was very good! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Tasty and not too hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wizardofohms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very good. I made a half-recipe, used boneless chicken thighs and finished the cacciatore in the slow cooker (5 hours on low) instead of the oven. I thought the sauce reduced a bit too much in the simmering, so I added another splash of wine and about a half-cup of chicken broth. Always looking for recipes that I can freeze in single portions for hubby's dinner (I work nights). This fits the bill nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States