Hungry Man's Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I was excited to try this different method of cooking chicken. I have to say I'm disappointed with the results. The skin ended up really soggy, so we took it off (and therefore lost all the seasoning as well). I have to imagine that the salt and pepper amounts were a typo...I used far less than 2 tablespoons. The onion was ok, but it didn't particularly add anything to the chicken, nor was it anything special by itself. If you're looking for yummy baked onion, try Vidalia Heaven on this site. This recipe wasn't bad, it just wasn't special. On the plus side, this was a quick and easy recipe, both in prep and cleanup. If I make this again, I'll make the following changes: use skinless chicken, add some paprika for color, and add some carrots and green beans along with the onion for additional color/flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Easily a 5 star recipe because it's soooo easy and good. I've been trying lots of different recipes for drumsticks lately and none of them have done anything for me. This one is awesome. I'll make this all the time for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
You really have to be hungry to eat the chicken. It can taste better if you add a DASH of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was a very delicious recipe with some nice kick to it! I only used half the called for amount for the salt and pepper. I put the S/P and allspice into a bag and shook the chicken in it, to coat. I also sauteed the onions and garlic for a few minutes before adding it to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I added a few more spices to the chicken (dash of ground sage and paprika), and used onion and garlic powders instead of fresh. The chicken turned out AMAZING! This is by far the most delicious way I've baked chicken. The aluminum foil is a great idea, as it really allows the spices to infuse into the drumsticks. I would probably take the foil off the chicken 5-10 minutes earlier in the future because I like my drumsticks a little crispier, but they were still fabulous. Also, I used kosher drumsticks, which I have found to be juicier. Great recipe, and I will definitely be making this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I made this for my husband and he absolutely loved it. It was a great tasting meal that was easy and quick to make which is a must in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This was so much fun to make!! I just used drum sticks and cooked them for 40 min. The taste was to die for and I can't wait to make it again. Adding the onions and garlic at the last 10 min. made the Chicken taste so very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
The chicken just cooked (covered) for the 40 mins - I took the foil off and it looked raw - I put it back in for another 30 mins - will see.....right now not sure. I had no "Shake-N-Bake" so I was looking for something different - not sure if this will beit - but I will post in 24 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This simple recipe makes fantastic drumsticks. I couldn't help but to tamper with the seasonings by using salt, pepper, poultry seasoning, garlic powder, and paprika after removing the skin. Next time I will sauté the onions and garlic a bit before adding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Yum! I will probably add the onion and garlic earlier next time, only because I am used to 'saucy' dishes which are very spicy and flavoursome. This was a lovely and welcomed change for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States